6 months down… 3 to go!

My third trimester has officially started!  I know that exclamation point at the end of that previous sentence would lead you to believe that I am excited, but I’m really not.   Don’t get me wrong, I am very excited to meet the new little bunchkin that is growing img_1065.JPGinside of me, but I am not excited about my third trimester.  For me, the third trimester represents incredible amounts of weight gain, horrible heartburn, major fatigue but the inability to sleep comfortably, and walking the speed of a snail because you have a human being laying directly on your crotch.  (I know, graphic, but you get the point.)  I’ve gained 15 pounds so far, but who knows what’s going to happen over the next 3 months?!  And I love it when people say, “Have you tried walking?  It really helped me with labor and delivery.”  That’s their nice way of saying, “Wow!  You’ve gained weight!” I wanted to put a picture of myself up so I can look back in 3 months and think about how skinny I was, even though right now I feel fat and it took me about 20 tries to actually take a picture that I would post on the internet.  Okay, enough of my complaining, but you’ve all been here, right?  Maybe not, some of you wear size small maternity pants and put on your old jeans a week after the baby is born.  Alright, I’m gonna go puke now.  

8 responses

  1. You look great! Before being pregnant, I used to think most women looked like they were about to have a baby at six months. I still think that would be a good stopping point for weight gain, but… I gained 7 pounds in my sixth month this time around! My doctor promised me the weight gain should start to drop off, but I’m not as hopeful. It sucks when you haven’t changed anything dietary and your body just changes how it is using the food. 7.5 weeks to go for me, hopefully no more weight then that either!

  2. You do look cute! I can only hope to be such a cute pregnant lady someday. Although, now that you describe what it’s really like, I can’t say I’m looking totally forward to it. 🙂

  3. Erin, I think you’re adorable. Yes, I’ve been there. I’ve felt like the moose in the bed with 19 pillows and all…But, you don’t look like a moose and not everyone fits into small maternity pants. I’m not pregnant anymore and I still can’t fit into small maternity pants! That’s the part that sucks. So, for now, enjoy the 3rd trimester where you can get away with eating as much as you want and not sucking in. It’s after the baby where sucking in is a b(@*$. 🙂 Zack’s excited to help you get rest in the wee hours of the night. No really, we had a talk. He said he’d sleep. Maybe.

  4. You look great, Erin…and yes, I’ve been there!! I can remember sifting through pictures to choose which ones to develop for the scrapbook..hehehe! Maybe you’ll have a different expereince in the 3rd tri this time around. My pregnancies were both very different in that respect. Gavin was much harder in the third tri than Kelan (although I looked like the stay-puffed-marhmallow-man with all the water retention with Kelan!) Being preggo in the Summer, rather than Winter will do that! And I NEVER fit right back into my jeans!! I always joke around and tell people I carry my babies in my butt!!! It seems to grow more than my belly for some reason… 🙂 Darn apple shape…
    Alyssa

  5. I think you look ROCKIN Erin! It took me about 20 trys to take a picture for my blog too. What I hate the most about maternity jean: saggy crothes! I’m so tired of yankin my pants up all the time!

  6. Eeeek! I can’t even THINK about hitting the 3rd trimester yet. I just barely hit the 2nd and I’m still getting used to all the changes in my body. How scary! My belly is bulging just enough that people, I’m sure, are at the point where they are debating whether I’m just plump or pregnant. I already feel huge – I can’t even imagine how much bigger I’m going to get in only 5-6 months.

Leave a Reply

