Mother’s Day Weekend

I had a great Mother’s Day!  (No baby yet, but a great Mother’s Day nonetheless.)  On Saturday Geric made me a delicious breakfast… french toast, bacon, and hash browns.  Yum, yum!  Then all three of us headed out to Huntington Beach.  It was a beautiful day!  It was also the first time we actually braved wearing our swim suits and setting up camp at the beach since Caden has been walking.  I had always imagined it as more of a headache than fun, but it turned out to be a really good time.  Geric was doing all the running after Caden, but that’s a Daddy’s job at the beach anyway, right?  🙂

On Sunday, I woke up with Caden (Geric has to be at church really early) and found roses and three cards on the kitchen table (one from Geric, one from Caden, and one from Jacob.)  The ones from Caden and Jacob were homemade, and in my opinion there is no greater gift than one that is homemade!  🙂  Then we spent the rest of the day with my mother-in-law and my mom.

My real gift came yesterday though.  Geric took Caden to Disneyland with Jake, Geneva, and Ezra, while Nicci and I hung out in Laguna.  It was another beautiful day, but also very weird.  It was as if we didn’t know what to do with ourselves without having to look after children constantly.  But it was really, really nice.  We lingered a little longer at lunch, laid out on the beach, and walked around to all the shops.  We were going to meet the guys and kids for dinner, but then we thought better of it and went by ourselves to the Cheesecake Factory.  When I got home last night Caden had eaten, was bathed, and falling asleep in bed!  It was such a great day!  I think this should be my gift every year… a day off!  Happy Mother’s Day to all the mommies and mommies-to-be!

One response

Leave a Reply

