My Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day!

Yesterday was a TERRIBLE day!  It started in the morning when I wasn’t producing milk!  So sad for me!  (And Jacob… he was hungry!)  I don’t really know why I was so sad, but I just was.  Luckily it was the day of my follow up postpartum appointment and the doctor prescribed a medication that would bring my milk back.  So that turned out okay. 

But since I was at the doctor in the morning, Geric was home alone with the boys and I think it threw them off of their usual morning routine.  Caden would not go down for a nap when I got back so we went out to the party store to get stuff to make invitations for Geric’s 30th birthday party.  After I picked everything out, I realized I had left my wallet at home.  I said I’d go get it and come back, but thinking about the amount of time it takes to get in and out of the car, I decided against it! 

Then, the medication I’m taking kicked in and made me totally sleepy, which is horrible when you have a toddler who’s totally not sleepy running around bored! 

When dinner came (the witching hour as my mom calls it) we all totally lost it!  Jacob was crying so Caden started crying.  Caden wanted Mac n Cheese, then he didn’t want Mac n Cheese, so he kept crying, and so did Jacob, and so did I!  I was hungry for dinner, but it didn’t look like I was getting any.  We headed off for the bathtub, where Caden enjoyed himself and Jacob kept crying.  Then I put Caden in his crib with some books while I gave Jacob his bath… silence, at last!  Afterwards, I went to read stories with Caden while Jacob was sitting on my lap and Caden didn’t like that.  He wanted Jacob off and he wanted to read the books to me!  Finally, after about 10 minutes of Caden pointing at all the pages and saying “That, that, that” I put him in bed crying.  Then I went to go nurse Jacob, who didn’t want anything to do with me because he started to prefer the bottle.  After about 15 minutes, he finally gave in and nursed and went to sleep.  It was a long night!  I’m still trying to figure out bedime routines with 2.  It’s definitely not easy!

4 responses

  1. Thursday is also my do it alone night! Not fun. We generally have a lot of tears at bedtime too. Hopefully the milk thing works itself out, that must have been extremely frustrating! I get to have some Rachel time tonight at a neighborhood girls night. Hopefully the girls will be wonderful for daddy!

  2. I’m sorry sis…you need more help…do you always do bedtime alone? Maybe it it just Thursdays…anyways, I’m sorry that it is so hard right now…but here is some good news that will make you happy 🙂 if Katy doesn’t have here baby I am hoping to come down sometime the week of Aug. 6-10 (probably be there on the 8th maybe) and stay through the weekend. Mom mentioned that Geric is going to be out of town, so maybe I can stay with you and help out 🙂 yay!

  3. I am so excited that you visited my Blog. I don’t know why the word blog reminds me of the word bugger but it does. I am working on figuring out how to put pictures on my Blog. I like the word blog. I should google the orgin. Jess said I was obsessed with the Blogger thing yesterday so today I am trying to sneek a second with it. Did you put me on your blog friends? I told Alisha about meeting on Thursday for Breakfast so I hope we can all go. Bye. How do people leave those smiley faces?

Leave a Reply

