Say A Little Prayer For Me

Geric left today on his missions trip with the youth.  They are going to Mississippi to help rebuild a family’s house that was destroyed in the hurricane.  It’s sad to me that Extreme Home Makeover can knock down and rebuild a house into a mansion in a week, but the government can’t figure out how to rebuild small, meager houses in over two years!  So sad. 

 Anyway, if Geric’s gone, that leaves me alone with two kids!  My mom actually took the week off to help me out, so that’s good.  However, listen to how my time alone with the kids started out… our first full blown, almost 2 hour long, two-year-old temper tantrum!  Caden started at my parent’s house.  He freaked out over God knows what (because he still isn’t talking) and I thought he was tired because he only got a 45 minute nap this morning when he usually sleeps for 2 hours.  I thought he would fall asleep on the drive home so I told my mom not worry, that she didn’t have to come over.  Well, I was wrong.  He screamed, not cried, SCREAMED for almost the entire 30 minute drive home!  He crashed asleep about 5 minutes from my house so I decided to drive through Del Taco to extend the little evening nap.  Well, the second I turned off the car in my driveway he woke up, looked around, remembered he was having a tantrum and started screaming again.  It lasted pretty much all the way through dinner (he refused to eat), through his bath, through jammie time, all during the time I was nursing Jacob and getting him to bed and finally, he mellowed out when I sat down to read him stories and put him to bed.  I don’t know if he’s just super jealous of the attention I have to give to Jacob, if he’s going through the terrible two’s, if he’s frustrated that he can’t communicate, or if he was just tired.  Maybe it was a combination of all of the above.  Anyway, I hope this isn’t a glimpse of what’s to come for the rest of the week!  But, if you think about it, maybe you can shoot up a little prayer for me!  Thanks!  I’ll keep you posted on how the rest of my week goes… unless I don’t survive. 

4 responses

  1. Praying for you sister! 🙂 I hate the terrible twos and I’m there right with you. Amazing how they can, at such a young age, sense when something just isn’t right! Caden probably realizes that Daddy is gone and can sense the anxiety you are feeling too! Take advantage of the help from your mom. Leave the kids with her for awhile and go do something – ALONE – even if it’s just driving around, grocery shopping, browsing through Target (Target is a fun place WITHOUT two kids in tow!). A little alone time makes any woman a better mommy! Love ya!

  2. I swear reading your blog is like I’m reading about my life. Ry left me and the boys for a less-nobeler trip: camping and kayaking.
    I havent had to go the the tantrum alone yet, N8’s just been a little sinker all weekend. When he gets mad at me he smacks his leg and looks at me as if to say “This could be you!”

  3. the little breaks from our bubbies remind us how much we really do need them and how helpful they are! I’ll be praying for you and his team in Mississippi!

  4. You’re funny… what about when he watched Monster’s Inc… give the kid some credit for being good 🙂 We’ll have a better day tomorrow because I’ll tire (not sure if that’s how you spell it) his ass out at the beach… can’t wait to see you & the boys!

Leave a Reply

