Thankful

Sometimes (a lot of times) I’m ungrateful and actually I complain a lot.  I complain about really stupid things, too.  Things like whining babies, feeling fat, an ugly backyard, and Geric working too much.  After today I am really ashamed.

A girl I barely know died this morning.  A girl that (from what I hear) had a huge heart and cared more about others and their disabilities than she did about her own.  She lived in a lot of pain and now she has gone to be with Jesus where that pain is gone and that disease is not existent.  While she is finally at peace, what breaks my heart is the family that she left behind.  I cannot think of anything worse than for something to happen to one of my children.  And while they must feel some peace knowing that she is dancing with Jesus in heaven, death is just so final, and the thought of never seeing her again in this world has to be devastating beyond anything I have ever felt. 

This, coupled with the experiences my sister has had has made me feel so ashamed of myself for all the silly complaints that I have.  So, today I am incredibly thankful.  I am thankful that I have two beautiful, healthy children that are happy and carefree.  I am thankful that I am healthy and alive and so is my husband.  I am thankful that that I have an amazing group of family and friends that love me.  But most of all I am thankful for the hope I have in Jesus. 

Lord, I pray that this is not a momentary revelation.  I pray that you remind me everyday to be grateful for what has been given to me and to never take it for granted.  I pray that you bring your peace to the Daniels family and help them to heal.  I pray that you heal my sister.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

