six months young

I really cannot believe that Jacob is six months old already!  I feel like I was just complaining about how I was still pregnant, but now he’s here and he’s six months old!?!?  We had our doctor’s appointment today and he weighed in at a whopping 15 pounds 14 ounces.  That’s in the 21st percentile, in case you’re wondering.  We breed ’em petite over here.  Although, he is 26 inches long now, which puts him in the 43rd percentile… almost average.  🙂  I checked Caden’s six month appointment stats and he was actually bigger than Jacob at this age.  Who would’ve thought?  Not me!  Jacob is wearing all of Caden’s old clothes and I swear they are too small for him when they fit Caden fine at that age.  They must’ve shrunk.

Jacob is now eating baby food twice a day, for breakfast and lunch.  He’s quite a picky eater, though.  He only likes pears.  I can sometimes get him to eat sweet potatoes and if I’m lucky, squash.  But it’s usually just pears.  He doesn’t even like the rice cereal!  Can you blame him?  I’ve stopped breastfeeding him, too.  I just stopped completely a couple of days ago.  I feel a little bit guilty about it, but honestly, I was feeling really overwhelmed and since he was already taking a bottle the couple of days that I was at work, my milk supply was going down, so I think he was really hungry.  I also am ready to have my body back to myself.  I went from being pregnant with Caden to breastfeeding him for a year and the month I stopped, I got pregnant with Jacob.  I’ve been sharing myself for almost 3 years!  I’m done.  It’s also nice to share the burden of feeding a little one.  I’m a terrible mommy, huh? … “the burden!”

Other milestones… he’s sort of sitting.  His butt is still a little too round (that’s what my mom says!)  He is also rolling all over the place.  He tries to get places, but he just looks like he’s swimming on the floor.  Here’s a little video I took.

He enjoys playing in his baby einstein saucer, the opera, and long walks on the beach.  J/K!  Just started to feel like I was writing a singles ad!

Unfortunately, he’s still not sleeping through the night.  I’m starting to let him cry it out.  Those Brits on the babywhisperer’s webpage gave me a bunch of rubbish for advice!  How can they expect me to keep picking him up, putting him down, picking him up, putting him down, picking him up, putting him down… until he eventually learns to soothe himself?  They said at first it could last 2 hours!!!  They must have a lot more patience than I do at 4am!  And, they must not have an energetic 2-year-old that wakes up at 7am!   I’ve just come to grips with the fact that being a mom is tiring and I’m prepared to be tired for the next 17 and a half years.  🙂

Okay one more thing I have to say about Jacob.  He is such a sweet and happy baby!  I’m really lucky!  He started out fussy, but he totally mellowed.  I just love my little bunchkinator sooooo much!  I really didn’t think I had this much love in my heart… but lo and behold, I do.

4 responses

  1. Ahhhh…. that was cute. A little devotion to Jacob, way to avoid the “second child syndrome” 🙂 Don’t feel bad for not breast feeding… you’re a great mom whether you share your boobies or not 🙂 I wish I was able to babysit today because I miss those boys and work sucked a nut! Code blues left and right… seems like everyone is checking out before the holidays, sad! Love you and miss you! I will see you next Wednesday for sure! Give the boys a great big hug for me and tell Caden “ALO!”

  2. I took back of my boobs too! I said I was going to vigorously diet when I did, but apparently I am a lot of talk and little action! Jacob is just beautiful by the way. I love your moms round butt comment. Sitting is hard work, I would rather lay around all day too!

    What I really like about making my own baby food, mostly veggies, is that if Ainsley didn’t eat something I only wasted an ounce instead of a whole jar. Then I can just keep trying an ounce at a time until she gives in. She’s weird though and loves veggies and hates fruit. She will occasionally tolerate bananas and apple sauce, anything else I have to sneak into her cereal in very small quantities. Pretty funny since all the books tell you to sneak the cereal into their fruit and i have to do it the other way.

    O kay, that is enough about my kid in your post. Have a great day with your kiddos!

  3. I love that video. Six months went by QUICK! Seems like you were just complaining that you hadn’t gone into labor yet and BAM you, Stef, Jane, me, and all the preggos had the kids already. Sheesh that was too fast!

    I got that baby whisperer book about solving problems and yah she talks about the pick up put down thing. Talk about determination but sounds like if you’re persistent it’ll work. Who knows.

    And I can’t WAIT to have my boobies back. I love Noah but just like I’m not a big fan of being pregnant, I’m not a big fan of breastfeeding either. Plus now that he’s more alert, he’s like a little hungry hog grunting and pulling me all around and then gets all distracted wanting to look at things, poop, or just giggle instead of focus and eat so it’s a lot of work to get him to finish up.

    When did Caden start sleeping through the night? It’s been 2 months since I’ve had a solid 8 hours and I miss it. Thankfully Noah just wakes once to eat, but I’m ready for that morning when I wake up and realize I got a full night’s rest!

Leave a Reply

