Things that make me grumpy

The fact that Jacob thinks it’s still okay to wake up in the middle of the night and cry… especially because he shares a room with Caden so we can’t just leave him there to let him cry it out.  So now we move him to the pack n play in our room and let him cry it out there while we crash on the couches with earplugs.  At least Geric always gives me the comfiest couch.

When I go to make cookies and I’m missing one ingredient… grrrrr!

When we overdraw our checking account by spending really small amounts like $5 at starbucks, $3 at riteaid, $5 at hollywood video and $10 at trader joes, but we get charged $30 for each overdraw.  That’s just not cool.  People that overdraw their accounts are obviously poor.  Banks should try and make money off the rich people, not the poor ones.

That we left the lid off the sandbox yesterday and the stupid cat from across the street pooped in it!  GROSS!!!!  There’s a reason I don’t have pets.  I shouldn’t have to put up with other people’s animals.  Yuck. 

When we try to cancel our cable to save a few bucks and the lady says that we are bound by a contract (huh?  a cable contract?) and we’ll have to pay $20 a month if we cancel.  We pay $30 now.  (This one actually made me secretly happy, but shhhh, don’t tell Geric!)

That my husband’s job consists of a day of snowboarding when it’s absolutely beautiful outside.  Ahh, the life of a youth pastor.  Must be tough.

Okay, I think that’s all.  I feel better now that I got that off my chest.

4 responses

  1. I feel ya with the missing ingredient for cookies! Especially when its unoticed until most of the ingredients are in the bowl and mixed! Those deparate measures give me the rare form of confidence to knock on my nieghbors’ door.

  2. First, call your bank and ask if they will reverse the overdraft charges. Mike was a bank manager and he got that question ALL the time. Obviously that is how banks make most of their revenue, but they may bend a little if you are super sweet, and apologetic. Mike would usually reverse half the fines if the person was nice on the phone and not acting intitled to the service.

    Second, ask if you can apply for a cash reserve. Basically it is a standing loan with the bank. We have one for $2000. If we go over, it takes it out of the reserve and we just have to pay that back with interest like any other bill. If they don’t offer one, find a bank that does and move your accounts,it is totally worth the hassle.

    Third, don’t use your debit card for all those little things unless you are diligent about keeping a register. It will kill you. We use one credit card and pay it off in full at the end of the month. When I was teaching, We each had $10 of “extras” each week. Yeah I know we were cheap even when I had a job. So I went out for lunch each Thursday and ordered off the alacart(sp) menu. And I had Starbucks every Saturday with some friends. I brought my own coffee on weeks that I went through Del Taco for Chili Cheese fries at some point. It’s the $3 here and there that kills your budget. Recently, mike started playing basketball at the rec center two morning a week. That’s $8 a week that we needed to produce. So now he comes home for lunch, brings it, or eats a Cliff Bar. He added $400 a year into our spendings so he had to cut it from somewhere else. One Starbucks a week is $200 annually. I think of most purchases annually and it puts things in perspective. I hope this wasn’t preachy, I just want you to be able to keep your cable!

  3. I was just talking to my hubby. The easiest is to get a bank issued credit card and have them link it to your account. That way they just dump whatever “too much” you spent to your credit card.

Leave a Reply

