I’m doing what?

So, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how I need to shed the last 20ish pounds of “baby weight.”  (I like to blame my babies even though it’s probably just “fast food weight” or “girl scout cookie weight” or maybe even “lazy-watching-too-much-TV-weight.”)  The problem with thinking about it is that nothing really happens.  In the words of my Dad, “I need a plan.”

So a couple of weeks ago at MOPS, a couple of the girls at my table were saying that they are going to run the Disneyland Half Marathon.  My ears perked up.  Disneyland?  My pass just expired.  I miss that place already.  Maybe this is my way back in!  But what’s that you, say?  I have to run 13 miles while I’m in there?  Hmmmmm.  Okay!

Those of you that know me, you know that I’m not a runner at all.  I sort of hate it.  Give me a pool and I’m fine, I’ll swim all day, but asphalt and tennies… no thank you.  I tried to run cross country in high school because all my friends were doing it and I quit after the first day.  I’ve also started training for two different marathons, but I quit before the big event.  (Although I did get to something like 10 miles in the last one I was training for!) 

So, why in the world would I do this???  Well, like I said before, I need to lose weight and I need to find my way back in to the happiest place on earth.  BUT, I have the secret weapon to keep me motivated.  My big sis!  She really is a runner.  I asked her to run with me, and even though we’ve been playing phone tag, I think she’s going to do it.  If she’s going to make the trip down here from Northern California and train for months on her own up there, I will feel REALLY bad if I quit.  So this time, I’m doing it, people!  Geric and I are even going to look at a really cool double jogging stroller that I found on craigs list Thursday night. 

My mom and my lil’ sis are going to run too.  (I told my mom she should embroider pink hats for us that say “TEAM NELSON.”)  My mom printed out the plan of attack for us and I started conditioning today.  Conditioning is the nice way of saying, “get up off your butt and move!”  So today we were suppoed to run/walk for 10 minutes.  I walked for 30… overachiever, I know. 

So, I wanted to post my plan on here that way I’l have some additional motivation.  I’ll feel really stupid if someone asks me how my training is going and I say that I quit.  So I’ll keep you guys updated on  the progress on of my training.  Look forward to posts about being exhausted and dry heaving and just a lot of complaining!  🙂 

5 responses

  1. Congrats on taking the leap! I trained for a half-marathon a year ago and had a lot of fun… I ended up getting injured at the last moment because I hadn’t bought myself new shoes! (I was using the same two-year-old pair that I’d worked out in all the time.) Anyway, I don’t say that to scare you, because it’s truly an amazing feeling to set the goal and accomplish it. I was really bummed that I couldn’t complete it.

    Looking forward to reading about your progress! 🙂

  2. I got pregnant while training for my half marathon! I was happy to quit, I always feel like I’m going to pee myself when I run long distances. Maybe because I actually did one time (I know, that’s embarassing).

    I still have 3 pounds to go to make my 10 pound mini goal. I know, I lost 7 in January, but then their was my anniversary, and Valentine’s Day, and now Easter. Sheesh, get off the candy and back on the wagon girl.

    Anyway, now that our weather has been warming I have been thinking about running too, not for a marathon, just for cardio, so email me your plan I can try to keep up with you guys. I have played around with the idea of doing a triathalon (.5 mile swim, 12 mile bike ride, and 3 mile run), but then I tell myself it would be too hard. Or, at least more hard then eating more jelly beans!

  3. I am excited for you!!! I know from experience that you dont like running 🙂 Go for it babe!!! You will love how it makes you feel!

  4. Yay Kiddo! I kind of giggled as I read cause it reminded me of that day we ran in the rain with Jeff and then spent the rest of the day on the couch. When is the Marathon? I might want to do it with you.

Leave a Reply

