Embarassing Kid Story #486

Today I took the boys to the grocery store.  I dread this weekly trip, but it must be done.  As I was walking up and down the aisle Caden would point at people and say things, but nothing rude.  But then we got down by all the lunch meat and there was a woman who was obviously going through chemotherapy and was wearing a handkerchief on her head.  Caden pointed at her and started singing the theme to Pirates of the Carribean, “Yo ho, yo ho!”  I looked at her and realized what he was doing.  Mortified, I couldn’t think of what to do, so I just acted like I was deaf and got my meat as fast as I could and left.  Good times.

4 responses

  1. I don’t really think that’s that bad. Afterall, you could play that off like you are simply singing songs in the store. “Mommy, pirate!” would be sometning else. Aubrey calls all people over 13 mommy’s and daddy’s. She doesn’t think they are hers, but she thinks they are parents. It does get a little embarassing when your kid is calling all the men daddy, but I just shrug and say “I don’t know, he may be a daddy.” to let the potential father of my child know she isn’t calling him Daddy. We’ve been working on calling them men instead 🙂

  2. It’s not his fault she looks like a pirate…. I think he’s smart for making the connection and probably made the lady smile 🙂

  3. Hey Erin,

    This has nothing to do with this post but I thought I would let you know that while my husband and I were at dinner tonight in Santa Monica I saw a woman using the nursing cover your mom made. 😉 I thought it was cool. Hope you are having a good day!

    Beckie 🙂

Leave a Reply

