It’s Your Birthday, Have a Party!

Yesterday was Jacob’s 1st Birthday Party.  I admit, I’m not the best mommy in the world (no, no, really, I’m not) but I can throw an awesome kiddo birthday party and yesterday was no exception.  🙂  We invited everyone over to my mom and dad’s house for a cowboy themed party.  There was swimming, giant coloring books, sidewalk chalk, playdough, and a sandbox.  It was totally the place to be if you were under four feet tall! 

We also did Jacob’s baby dedication.  We started the tradition with Caden of dedicating him on his first birthday and we continued it with Jacob.  It made the day even more special.  Kevin mentioned something during the dedication the really struck a chord with me.  He said something about how God hand picked Geric and I to be the parents of our boys and how our boys were handpicked to be our children.  It’s a great thing to think about when I’m feeling inadequate or when I’m comparing myself to other supermoms.  We are exactly who God intended to raise and love and nuture Caden and Jacob (as flawed as we are!) and Caden and Jacob are exactly who God intended to be raised by us and love us back and fill our hearts to overflowing (oh, and drive us crazy and push our buttons from time to time!)  We’re perfect for them and they are perfect for us!  I love that!

Here’s some pictures of the fun we had and the guests that came!  Thanks to everyone who came and made the day so special!  Love you guys!

Not to toot my own horn or anything, but the cake was delicious!

 

See?

Our little fish (I mean, shark) barely made it out of the water all day!

At the end of the party I took a picture of all the boys that were born last year.  Some were happier to be posing than others!

After all our friends left, Jacob and Caden relaxed and watched a little Nemo while the rest of us cleaned up!

 

7 responses

  1. The party looked awesome. Sad we missed it! Did you make the cake? Very cute.

    Hey! I have that same dress…just bought it yesterday. Cute!

  2. Thanks again for inviting us to the party, we had a good time.
    Nate is so cute in his cowboy hat, he prances around saying “Hee Haw” and sang “You’ve Got A Friend In Me” the whole way home from the party!

  3. 95% of those pictures take by me… thank you 🙂 It was a great first B-day party! Them watching nemo is so cute… I got the cake shots, I’ll send them to you!

  4. One other thing… too bad you can’t play “It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to…” on the pick with all the babies 🙂

  5. Kiddo you do have the best kid parties and no one makes a better b-day cake then my friend! That cake seriously rocks! Im really sad I missed it because I don’t want Jacob to think I like Caden better because I went to his, man I got to get better at this. I love you Kiddo!!

  6. It looks like it was such a fun party. I wish I could have come, but we all have the superflu, yuck! Your cake is so cute and the writing is absolutely perfect! Happy birthday, Jacob!
    Jen

Leave a Reply

