Toddler Insomnia

Last night, Caden couldn’t sleep.  He fell asleep like normal but he woke up at 2:30 and was awake until 4am… which mean I was awake at those lovely hours of the morning too.

He came in our room at 2:30 and stood beside me whispering “mama” over and over until I woke up.  I thought it was a dream and when I saw him standing there it totally freaked me out like he was a little ghost baby or something.  He’s never come into our room in the middle of the night like that.  I brought him in bed with us which was followed my a lot of tossing and turning and kicks in the back.  After a half an hour of that I asked him if he was ready to go back to his bed and he said yes.  Thank God!

I laid him down and went back to our room and I heard him in there talking… probably to his stuffed animal dog.  This probably wouldn’t be a big deal to the normal family but my boys share a room, remember?  And Jacob has actually started sleeping through the night for the last week or so.  So, I went in there and told Caden to go to sleep, after all it was the middle of the night.  Doesn’t he undertsand that?  Here it was 3am and I’m trying to talk logic to my two year old.  Hmmmmm… not the best way to get him to go back to sleep.

I left and he was quiet for a little while and I fell back to sleep.  At 3:30 I heard footsteps in the front room.  I got up and Caden was standing there saying, “Jacob?”  I think he thought his brother was sleeping out there like he normally does when he wakes up in the middle of the night.  Now I’m getting frustrated.  I know this little guy isn’t TRYING to wake up the baby, right???  Back to bed, back to sleep.

4am: Jacob’s crying.  This time I make Geric get up and I hear him shout, “Caden!  What are you doing?”  I go in there and Caden has climbed into Jacob’s bed and woke him up!  Rotten!  Now I’m more than frustrated.  I spanked him (I know, anti-spankers are wincing right now, but he survived, believe me) and put him in bed and told him to close his eyes until the sun woke up.  Then we moved Jacob to the front room.  Finally, Caden went to sleep.

On the bright side, he slept in until 8:30.  What a night! 

2 responses

  1. Aubrey climbed out of her crib once and was that ghost child in the hallway (I heard ehr door open and walked out there) it is so freaky! I hope this was a fluke and not a normal occurance. Why are kids so squirmy in bed anyway!

Leave a Reply

