What the… ?

So, yesterday I tried eating better.  It was just yesterday because as my mom says, “I’m taking it one day at a time.”  🙂  I have a lot of “baby flub” (Leah coined that term) left and I really need to get rid of it if I’m ever going to be comfortable in public in a swimsuit again.  And I really enjoy swimming.

So, yesterday I sacraficed.  I ate salad for two meals.  If you know me at all, you know I’m not a salad person.  I enjoy a good side salad, or even a salad before the real meal comes, but as for the main course, well, that’s for the rabbits.  I like me some carbs!  A big bowl of pasta, now there’s a good hearty meal… that will add to the already existing baby flub.  So I ate salad. 

I made a chicken ceasar salad for lunch and we were at Victoria Gardens for dinner, so we went to the Corner Bakery and I got the Harvest Chicken Salad.  It was good but I certainly wasn’t satisfied.  But food is fuel, not fun.  So ate and I finished, and that was that.

This morning, just for fun (that’s how crazy I am) I went on the Corner Bakery’s website to see how many calories that non-satisfying salad was. 980!!!!  I am not kidding!  What the… ? It was balsamic vinegarette dressing.  There were barely any walnuts or currants, much less the bleu cheese that is on the menu but in reality you get one medium sized chunk!  One?  For reals??  So that sucks.  I could’ve gotten a panini or even some pasta! 

Corner Bakery, you are now my archenemy… you and your Harvest Chicken Salad!  Mark my words, Corner Bakery, I will get you for this! 

3 responses

  1. NOT OKAY, Corner Bakery! I have actually heard that is true of many restaurant salads. I think the salads at Wendy’s have more calories than a hamburger! Shocking! Boo Corner Bakery, boo salad, and boo losing weight! Let’s invent a flub-melting machine!

  2. That is yucky! When I cut calories in January, I tried to cut 500 calories form what I naturally concume without thinking about it. It was hard for a few days and then I wasn’t hungry anymore. My bod just had to get used to less food. I stopped for some reason, and now that I haven’t been exercising I am really flubby around the middle. Oh well, I’ll give it another go when I get back from vacation and try to take off another 5 pounds or so. Baby steps, right!

  3. Erin, salads suck. They are boring and crunchy and not filling and lame. Can you tell I’m not a salad eater? The only good one is the Southwestern Cobb salad at Chilis. Darlene turned me on to that one back in the day but its prob loaded with calories.

    When we get together next week I’ll break down my multi-attack get my body back plan. Maybe we can do it together!

    I love bean and cheese burritos and hate exercise so I’ve found a way to tone down the cost of what I love and push through what I hate. It’s beautiful and I’ve already lost 3.5 inches around my waist in one month. Although the stupid scale isn’t really moving.

Leave a Reply

