10 by 30

So, I’m turning 30 in forty days.  I’m not too upset about it really.  It’s kind of sad to think that my twenties are going to be over, but they were fun.  I had a good time.  Time to move on.  I’m okay with it.

But, I thought I would give myself a goal.  I like goals.  It’s good to have things to strive for… and fall short of.  But maybe, just maybe, I might actually achieve this goal.  Don’t go holdin’ it over my head or anything!

I decided that I’m going to try and lose 10 pounds by my 30th birthday.  Fun, fun! 

I’m just going to throw my weight out there, just so a have starting point in black and white, and the WHOLE BLOGOSHPERE knows about it!  I stepped on the scale this morning and I am 148 pounds.  Some of you just gasped in horror, and some of you just thought “that’s skinny!”  To the “that’s skinny” group, you are my VERY best friends!  I was actually thrilled because I feel like ever since I’ve had kids, 150 pounds has been stopping point.  I just can’t seem to make it over that hurdle.  So, if I could get to 138 by my birthday (on October 4th in case you want to mark you calendar) I would be super stoked! 

I talked to Alisha, who’s a nutrition expert (not really… but she has been on every diet under the sun at one point or another) and we both thought it would be best if I kept eating how I’m eating (because it’s really not that bad) but just eat less.  So, that’s my plan.  I’m going to try and eat half of what I would normally consume at any sitting, and I’m going to walk everyday, which I’ve already been doing.  Walking is WAY better than running!  🙂 

I was thinking about this this morning when I was walking and I thought “Man, if I would get to 138, I would be satisfied.”  But would I really?  I don’t know.  I feel like I’m always thinking about my weight and what I eat and how much exercise I get.  Will there actually be a day when I’m okay with the way I look?  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think I’m a hideous beast, so you don’t have to leave comments telling me how beautiful I am.  I know I’m beautiful!  J/K!!!  Totally a J/K!  But, isn’t everyone like this?  Everyone has something about them that they want to change, right?  I’m not the weird one, am I?  Maybe I am.  Hmmmmmm… what do you think?  Are you completely comfortable in your own skin, and if not, do you think you ever could be?

7 responses

  1. Hey, that’s my goal too, but by Halloween. This first month sucked with my trip to Cali, coming home to find the gym closed for a week for renovations and then I got sick. I am currently drinking soda falling deeper into the whole that is my weight!!! If you want, we can email each other a few times a week for accountability or I can even call (I have unlimited long distance). Let’s do this!!!!

    And no, if I lose my ten pounds (which turned into 13 somehow), i won’t be happy, I am sure of that. But maybe, just maybe, I will be a bit more confident. There’s a lot about being a SAHM that doesn’t feed into me being happy with myself, but those are my own issues that I am working through. You know defining myself by the world and not by God, yada, yada, yada.

    Oh, and for inspiration you should read Twilight and fall back into the world of high school and young love. Heck, I didn’t even weigh enough to give blood back then!

  2. What a great blog post! I’m actually pretty fit, I work out almost every day of the week, but I’m still not 100 percent happy with my body. (And truthfully, I’m not sure I ever will be, even though I’m probably at my ideal weight now.)

    I’m working on just being happy as me. Doing yoga balances me out, makes me feel less stressful and anxious — not just about how I look, but how I feel in general. And I try to eat healthy and ignore the mean internal voice that pops up occasionally, by countering it with my own positive voice. (“I look good! I am beautiful!”) I know that sounds new age-y but it works. 🙂 If we can’t be confident in ourselves, who else will be?

  3. Sis… I think everyone feels that way. I look back at my wedding pictures and think “Dang, I was skinny” when the night before my wedding I was starring sideways in the mirror after doing 100 sit ups and thinking I looked like a chunk! Crazy right? I still do it- I eat great and work out and then I eat crap for one day and it looks like I swallowed a watermelon… I can always be skinnier, more toned, tanner, prettier… ya know? Just do like the alcoholics “Accept the things I cannot change, have the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference!” Good luck though with the 10 pounds, I think you can do it!

  4. E- I happen to look at you and think you look great! Especially for an old lady who has popped out 2 kids. But alas, I understand your dilemma. That illusive 10 pounds can kill you sometimes. Good luck with it sister. And if you ever start to feel like its never gonna happen, just go to my blog and look at my pregnant pictures. 🙂 Oh, and think “at least I’m not Oprah.”. That always helps.
    This comment brought to you by our friends at Dove. “Dove, love the skin you’re in”.

  5. Erin,

    I know how you feel but I have lots more pounds I would like to loose. 🙂 But I have been reading this book by Elyse Fitzpatrick, Love to Eat, Hate to Eat, she really talks about how we are to eat and be healthy according to God’s will for us. I think its a good book so far! 🙂 Just thought I’d let you know. 🙂

    Beckie 🙂

Leave a Reply

