Curious Mommy

Do you ever wonder how other moms do certain things?  I do.  I think about that a lot, especially when it seems like the way I’m doing things isn’t working at all or isn’t going to work for much longer.  So, I’ve thought of a bunch of questions to ask my mommy friends, or even you older moms that have grown up kids.  You can answer one question or all or none.  I’m just curious.

1.  Do you spend time with God everyday?  If so, when do you fit that in?

2.  When do your kids go to bed?  When do they wake up?

3.  Do you exercise?  When?

4.  When do you take a shower?  What do your kids do while you’re showering (if they aren’t alseep)?

5.  Do you bathe your kids everyday?

6.  How much TV do you let your kids watch?  What shows are acceptable and what shows aren’t?

7.  What do you do to discipline your kids?

8.  How much time during the week do you have without kids?

Okay, that’s all I can think of for now.  I’ll answer in the comment section, too.  If you have any questions you’re curious about, ask away!

8 responses

  1. Here’s my answers:
    1. Do you spend time with God everyday? If so, when do you fit that in? No, not everyday. I usually have a lot of prayer time… while I’m walking, driving, doing the dishes. I wish I culd wake up before my kids and spend some time reading the Bible, but I haven’t managed to do that.

    2. When do your kids go to bed? When do they wake up? They go to bed between 7:30 and 8 and they wake up around 7… although this week, it’s been closer to 6. 😦

    3. Do you exercise? When? Yes, I usually walk a couple miles everyday in the morning after breakfast, unless we’re going to a playdate or something else in the morning. I bring along a bag of goldfish crackers to keep the boys from whining in the stroller.

    4. When do you take a shower? What do your kids do while you’re showering (if they aren’t alseep)? This varies… when I can!!! Sometimes after our walk with Jacob in the crib and caden in the playroom. Sometimes during naptime. Sometimes if Geric is home, I can shower in peace.

    5. Do you bathe your kids everyday? Usually

    6. How much TV do you let your kids watch? What shows are acceptable and what shows aren’t? Usually an hour in the morning, a show before naptime, and a movie while I make dinner. Caden watched another show while I put Jacob to bed. They can watch anything on playhouse Disney and Nick Jr.

    7. What do you do to discipline your kids? Caden: Time outs, going to his room, taking toys away, and spanks if he’s really naughty. Jacob: I just tell him “no” and hit his hand (not hard.)

    8. How much time during the week do you have without kids? I work 8 hours a week, and I get random times usually once a week or once every other week for a few hours with friends or Geric.

  2. I LOVE THESE QUESTIONS…. in fact I remember wondering these very things myself! SO I am going to be revisiting your blog just to see what other mommies are saying… Thanks Er…

    1. Do you spend time with God everyday? If so, when do you fit that in? I try… I definitly pray everyday… trying to have a constant conversation with God throughout my day… When I have my devotional time I do it M-F when Jonah is napping at 9am… Now if I have a MOPS thing or playdate that doesnt happen… so… I might need a better schedule…

    2. When do your kids go to bed? When do they wake up? HAHAHAHA Right now Jonah goes to bed at 730 and gets up at 7am. Haley and Hunter – we are SHOUTING for a bed time of 730 where they go in their room and lay in bed having reading time till 8pm… and in that half hour JIm and I go in and read a book with them and have prayer time and alone time with each… thatis our GOAL… now… how OFTEN does this work… we just started it when three weeks ago and it is hit and miss… Haley has been struggling with her emotions and school and along with that has made bed time a night mare…. also… I have been sick… sooooo…. once we get it in gear… I will let you know.

    3. Do you exercise? When? I WISH!!! I need some one to work out with. I use to walk with Kelly and that was easy and fun and had accountibility and was great…. now my work outs include my own version of tae-bo to Haley’s camp rock and hannah montana songs so that she joins me :).

    4. When do you take a shower? What do your kids do while you’re showering (if they aren’t alseep)? Jonah has to be asleep or someone older than Haley needs to be watching after him when I shower… everyday it is completely different and it drives me nuts… usually I shower at night when Jim is home… I dont trust Hunter alone with Joe… 🙂

    5. Do you bathe your kids everyday? we try! I use to NOT… but now my kids are older and smell.

    6. How much TV do you let your kids watch? What shows are acceptable and what shows aren’t? I dont have a set schedule of when they can watch tv now that they are back in school…. but how you answered it is exactly what I did before school.

    7. What do you do to discipline your kids? Haley and Hunter get time outs mostly… a spank on big issues… depending on the “bad choice” or definant behavior… I take toys away… like Haley gets her dresses put in time out if dressing in the morning is a definant issue… or Hunter gets trains taken away when he doesnt share….

    8. How much time during the week do you have without kids? Lets see…. All by myself (NO KIDS)… Jonah’s nap time in the morning… (if no meetings- which there is usually two things a week that take away fromt his) and MOPS…. thats it…. that is why I am trying to see if I can get a work out thing going…. because I like working out and it would be something that benefits me and gives me a mental break.

  3. I just typed a forever long comment and then lost it! Grrr, The only main difference is that my time to myself is when I exercise, so I try to exercise 4-5 days a week. I love my kids, but they drive me crazy and bring out the worst in me. I never knew I had the ability to be so angry, I desperately need time to myself to recharge. If I don’t get it I am an awful person to be around. I told Aubrey that if she woke me up too early this morning I would go and exercise instead of spending the morning with her. Needless to say, she came downstairs and waited on the couch for me. I came down at 6:45 and she was very clear that she was quiet and didn’t wake me!

  4. 1. Sadly, no.
    2. 8:30 bedtime, older boys are up by 6:30 and the little guys wake up between 7:30-8:00.
    3. No, I like being fat.
    4. I shower in the morning before the kids get up or after the boys go to school.
    5. Yup, except for last night, Aaron “forgot” to give them a bath while I was at preschool orientation. The older boys take showers every night. I would make Liam shower twice a day if I could. Puberty boys stink!
    6. I don’t specifically monitor TV time, but the little ones will watch TV in the morning and when the boys get home from school. The rest of the time we play or are out of the house. They watch Nick Jr the most.
    7. Time outs, I set the kitchen timer and the kids have to sit on a specific stool until it beeps. I very rarely spank, but when I do, I always feel guilty afterwords.
    8. I have zero time without my kids and Aaron and I have almost zero time alone as well. But now that the little ones are going to both be in Pre-k 2 days a week, I will have at least 6 hours a week to myself and hopefully Aaron will be home some of those days so we can hang out by ourselves!

  5. 1. With Dan before bed (sometimes)
    2. 7:30 get ready for bed. Alseep by 8 or 8:30 Wake time 7:30
    3.Yes… walk with Karin on Fridays and some Thursdays (9am Ontario Mills) Also do the bike trainer at home when kids go to bed.
    4. Morning, sometimes night if I have somethings early the next day. They shower with me sometimes, or play in my bedroom with a basket of toys.
    5.Most of the time yes… unless we go in the pool or don’t have time.
    6. 1-2 hours (Mainly PBS or movies)
    7. Timesouts, spanks, remove check mark on reward chart, toys in timeout.
    8.Little… but Dan wtches the kids and let’s me go out for girl time about once a month. It’s nice… I get to go tonight! Yea!

  6. 1. Do you spend time with God everyday? If so, when do you fit that in?
    Yes. But sadly I “check it off my list” by reading 2 pages from my devotional Bible. I have the bonus of teaching at a Christian school, so we have daily devotionals and Bible/prayer time with the kids. (One of my girls accepted Jesus yesterday! How cool is that?)
    2. When do your kids go to bed? When do they wake up?
    Matty goes to sleep around 10 and is up around 2 to eat. Then he’s back down until about 6. All you other mommies are giving me hope that it does get better!
    3. Do you exercise? When?
    Ha! Never.
    4. When do you take a shower? What do your kids do while you’re showering (if they aren’t alseep)?
    If Joshua isn’t home, I put Matt in a bouncy seat in the bathroom. Then I can talk to him while I shower. 🙂
    5. Do you bathe your kids everyday?
    No way! Baby bath tubs are such an ordeal. Usually every three days works.
    6. How much TV do you let your kids watch? What shows are acceptable and what shows aren’t?
    NONE! We don’t have cable and I like it that way.
    7. What do you do to discipline your kids?
    Love & Logic. OK, I don’t really have to disciple Matt yet, but I’ve been reading up on it and I like it! I use it with my students.
    8. How much time during the week do you have without kids?
    25 while I work.

  7. Hi Erin! I’ve never posted a comment on your blog, even though I love to check in on how your family is doing! It’s great to hear about real moms who have lives and kids that can be crazy, like mine.

    1. This summer I have been really bad about it, but during the rest of the year I have a weekly study that helps me to remember to have an actual quiet time. Besides that, I pray a lot.

    2. My kids go to bed between 7:30 and 8:00, and wake up between 6:00 and 6:30 (luckily the earliest riser, Natalie, cuddles in bed for awhile with us, so I go back to sleep for awhile!)
    3. I try to go to the gym twice a week, since it also is one of the times of the week that I have to myself. We also go for walks, but we go so slow that there is no chance of burning calories.
    4. I normally take a shower after my kids have eaten breakfast and while my husband is eating breakfast. Now that Natalie is in preschool that doesn’t always happen, so I have to wait until naptime on those days.
    5. I try to bathe them every other day, but more often if they need it (my son gets dry itchy spots on his skin if he gets bathed too often).
    6. I let them watch two shows in the morning, and one or two in the afternoon after nap (thanks for this question…I always feel so guilty about this, and it’s nice to know that other moms do this, too!) We usually watch shows we DVR so that there are no commercials (my daughter is at that stage where she wants everything in commercials…I’ve been told I’m getting an Aquaglobe for Mother’s Day) we watch Nick Jr, too. Also, PBS kids shows, and music shows, like Cedarmont Kids and Laurie Berkner band
    7. For discipline, I use a LOT of time outs, I take away toys, and sometimes give spankings if it’s really bad.
    8. Probably about 4-6 hours a week, during my workout time, Bible Study, and MOPS.

  8. 1. Do you spend time with God everyday? If so, when do you fit that in? I try but it doesn’t happen everyday. Usually in the morning when Morgan is eating breakfast and prayer at night.

    2. When do your kids go to bed? When do they wake up? They sleep from 8:30 p.m. – 7-8 a.m. Jett is up until 9 p.m. on non-school nights.

    3. Do you exercise? When? Yah right…I try to go on walks but it’s been so hot recently, or do stuff on the Wii Fit.

    4. When do you take a shower? What do your kids do while you’re showering (if they aren’t alseep)? In the morning either before Morgan gets up or when she’s napping and Jett’s at school.

    5. Do you bathe your kids everyday? Nope. Usually every 2-3 days, unless Morgan is dirty. Jett is every other morning.

    6. How much TV do you let your kids watch? What shows are acceptable and what shows aren’t? Not much. We don’t have cable so they watch PBS and Saturday AM cartoons. Every once in a while we’ll watch a kids movie. Morgan gets to watch Sesame Street when eating breakfast.

    7. What do you do to discipline your kids? Jett has different punishments depending on the situation. Morgan gets a time-out and sometimes a smack on the hand depending on what she did but usually it’s just a time out and a firm “NO” from dada which makes her cry.

    8. How much time during the week do you have without kids? Every other Tuesday night bible study with the girls for 2 hours. MOPS time 2 hours and when they are in bed…so about 2 hours at night. I did try to plan a once a month “girls night out” but it’s harder now that I’m pregnant again.

Leave a Reply

