Gin!

I’ve been a lazy blogger.  I have two family nights, my birthday weekend, and beach trip to blog, but I haven’t gotten around to it.  I will, soon, I promise.

Tonight I went out to dinner with a bunch of girls for one last “Girl’s Night” before Stef leaves for Georgia.  She’s moving there, not vacationing.  And since I drank way too much iced tea (caffinated) I’m going to actually write a post.  

A couple of people were sharing Stef memories and I was trying to think of a good story to share, but I didn’t.  Honestly, there are too many.  For close to ten years through jr. high, high school,  and college, we were pretty much inseperable.  Seriously.  People would introduce us as “Stef & Erin” like “LaVerne & Shirley.”  It was so bad that when we wanted to hold each other accountable for doing quiet times, we said we wouldn’t call each other until we’d done our quiet time for the day.  That’s how much we couldn’t stand to be apart.  Sickening, really.

So, i didn’t share a story.  I gave her a really tight squeeze before I left becuase I probably won’t make it to her goodbye party (same day and time as Caden’s birthday party… thanks for checking my schedule, Carrie!)  And I left.  And I wasn’t really too sad.  I mean, I love you Stef, but we have blogs and we have email and it’s not like you died!  (Well, at least not on the outside.)  

But, then I got home and I laid down to go to sleep, and I got REALLY sad.  (My emotions are weird like that… delayed, I guess.)  So, I thought, “I know!  I’m going to post my favorite memory of Stef on my blog!”  I looked through old photo albums for inspiration, and I’ve found more than one memory.  I found 28.  (If you’re bored, you can stop reading now.)  I’m not going to elaborate too much, but here are some of our good times, and not so good times, that made us the friends that we are today.

  • Meeting you at summer camp, while I was wearing a foam visor from ACE softball.
  • Being youth leaders for light n power and having a very stinky cabin from hell when we were camp counselors.
  • Wearing our raingear in the field to “test it out” and talk smack about boys and your mom doing her best impression of a blowhorn to call us back into the house.
  • Spending 4th of July on your roof… watching your mom be scared of heights was way better than the fireworks.
  • Triangle Sisters Forever!!!
  • Smoking in the garage after we encountered a wheel chair bound homeless man.
  • Being roomies at 10295B for a month.  Good times.
  • Lip syncing to “My Guy” and the Brady Bunch song.
  • Going to Newport and pretending we were tourists from Alaska when people asked (now we should pretend like we are from Georgia!)
  • Spending 4th period of our senior year hanging with Maples, because you won ASB and I didn’t, and God forbid we spent that time apart!
  • Stef and Erin in the cupboard.
  • Kidnapping you before your wedding for oreos and soda at the top of Haven.
  • Wearing dorky outfits to Disneyland and taking way too many dorky pictures!
  • Triple dancing at homecoming… and prom… and king’s ball.  (Do you realize that I went to dances with your husband and Megan’s husband?  Weird.)
  • Eating dinner before our senior prom at an old folks home.  Our dates really knew how to show a girl a good time!  (Jimmy, you know it’s true!)
  • Our crappy senior year where we literally would have died if we didn’t have each other.
  • Graduation from high school (thank God!) and grad night (not all it’s cracked up to be.)
  • Our “senior trip” to Honduras… big bugs (and I don’t mean Dan and Jason), humidity, hard work… now that’s a senior trip!
  • The girls Bible study and watching 90210 afterwards.  I was the 90210 nazi… no talking except during the commercials… not even a whisper!
  • Our Flipside softball team AKA standing in the outfield getting a tan.
  • Being in each others wedding.
  • Dealing with rotten boyfriends… we dodged some major bullets… major.  That’s all I’m gonna say about that. 
  • When we both liked Sam and he told us that he liked your personality and my body… what a winner.
  • Riding around in the crap mobile singing “Passionate Kisses” at the top of our lungs.
  • My videographer skills at your birthday party.  “Stephanie Joy, you’re such a joy!”
  • “You know what I mean, God” prayers.
  • Your dress rehearsal at San Antonio with Haley… I hope I wasn’t too noisy.
  • Playing gin for hours and hours in your room while we listened to oldies and hardly spoke, except to say, “Gin!”

Okay, so that’s all of it.  Well, it’s not all of it, but it’s all I’m going to force ya’ll to read.  (Ya’ll!  Ha!  Don’t they say that in Georgia?)

So, Stef, I love you!  I know we’re not nearly as close as we were growing up (which is actually probably very healthy) but I feel like whenever we get together, we don’t skip a beat.  It’s like we’re back to where we were.  You really don’t find too many friends like that, you know?  So, even though we still have blogs and emails, I’m gonna miss ya.  I know, it’s silly, but it’s true. 

God has an awesome adventure waiting for you in Georgia, and I can’t wait to come and visit you.  We can sit on your porch and sip lemonade and watch fireflies, and play gin.   

DSC02261 by you.

4 responses

  1. Awww! You make me miss her already! You guys were such good friends! That’s awesome! Triangle SISTER’s forever! Love you both so much! We will miss you Stef! -Mindi

  2. Ok… so when I saw the title of your post and my picture on my google reader, the person inside me who hates to deal with emotion couldnt read your post.. however, tonight… I decided I was ready! (I know it was really like a day I delayed…) You made me cry…. thanks a LOT! I dont emote… and I got tears…. TEARS. For some reason I have been talking about you a LOT lately… I am sure Carrie is sick of hearing about you fight now. You are right, we dont hang out liek we did when we were in high school… but it is true, we have probably a much healther relationship. I love that we dont have to talk on the phone… I love that we can not see each other for months and then when we do, it is just like we left it…You are an EASY friend.. not sandpaper! 🙂 I know that if I needed you, you would have my back. We do have blogs and email and TXT and Facebook….
    I love you girl and I have so enjoyed hanging with you this past week…. Doesnt it seem like you have had a stef week?

    Love you girl and I will see you soon 🙂 thanks for this post…. it really ment a LOT.

  3. Erin,

    That was a really nice post. I was craking up on the old folks home. It’s true!! Sad but true.

    See you around. Oh and yes, I am a blog lurker.

    Jimmy

  4. well, maybe I should move far away and then people will have nice things to say about me. I thought I had to wait until I was dead, and then you never know what’s been said. Moving is much easier. Is there blogging in heaven?

Leave a Reply

