Worth the drive?

I got one of those newspaper flyers in the mail for a grocery store called WInco.  Have you heard of it?  I had, but it was a long time ago and they were always located in areas that… left something to be desired, if you know what I mean.  So I never wanted to pack up the kids and take a trip there.  Plus, I have a special place in my heart for Stater Brothers.  They’re my people.  No fancy stores or outfits or starbucks in the entrance… just some cheap food.  Remember when the Stater Brothers brand food was a brown box with writing on it?  Nothing else, just a brown cardboard box that said, “Macaroni and Cheese” in black boring font.  Those were the good ol’ days. 

Well, the flyer I got showed that there was a Winco in a nicer area, right by the Walmart that I oh so love!  😉  Plus, there was a coupon for a FREE orange juice and a FREE dozen eggs, no purchase necessary.  So I thought I would check it out.  It reminded me of Costco, but you don’t buy everything in bulk.  They had everything on my list, too.  I hate that when I go to Trader Joe’s or wherever and they don’t have something and I have to go across the street to Vons.  Talk about a pain in the hiney!  They also had these big dispensers of spices that you buy by the weight, instead of just buying a REALLY expensive small container off the shelf.  I was highly impressed. 

Long story short, I spent LESS than $100 on groceries for the whole week!!!  That’s amazing!  I usually spend around $125, at least.  We cook dinners and eat at home a lot.  So, I just wanted to share the wealth.  If you have a Winco in the area, it’s worth the drive!

4 responses

  1. I LOVE winco too but again, it’s kinda far from me too and not in the greatest area for me to be going at night by myself…but so worth the savings in money.

  2. My MIL shops there and saves a ton. She buys pizza flour from a bin, and raisins, and so much more. I hope they put one in near me, my only discount grocer is Super Walmart, and I loathe them with a fiery passion, so I rarely go. Don’t get me wrong, it’s really clean, but I am sure there cashiers have to take a test on moving at a snails pace. it drives me batty!

    I love your new header!

  3. Our Winco is like 2 minutes away on Foothill and Cherry so we go there alot but I too prefer Stater’s (plus Stater’s on Summit had double seat carts – love that!)
    I really like to buy nuts by the pound and spices. It feels so good to refill your parley jar for 11 cents. I’m still a little hesitant on fruits and veggies there. They dont seem to be as fresh and turn quicker.
    I love too that they are close and open 24 hours – I can send Ryan real quick for things I’m missing.

  4. Pingback: My Love Affair with Trader Joe's

Leave a Reply

