New Year’s Eve

First things first: The babysitter position has been filled.  Thank you to all who inquired, but Caden is extremely excited about playing at “Wy-dit’s” house every Thursday afternoon.  🙂

Okay, now rewind to New Year’s Eve.  I forgot to post these picture and since I’m anal and I can’t write posts out of chronological order without feelin’ all OCD, I have to tell you about our new years.

Here’s the thing.  Kids kinda put a damper on the holiday.  I love my kids, I really, really do, but kids and new years just don’t mix.  Even if we tried to go to a fun new years party and keep them up until midnight, the next day they’d still wake up at the crack of dawn and then we’d all pay for it for about a week until they caught up on their sleep.  Just not worth it to me.  Anyway, new years is kinda overrrated.  I mean, it’s just another night, another day, another year.  Big whoop.  But we couldn’t just sit around the house and do nothing.

Geric thought it would be fun to take the boys to Huntington and walk around and eat at Ruby’s on the pier.  I thought it was a good idea.  It was a beautiful day here in the 951, so I thought it would be a crisp, beautiful day at the beach.  WRONG!!!  Here’s what we drove up to:

From new years and dentist

Nice. We decided to make the best of it. Geric and I were cracking up as we were bundling the boys up in big jackets and hats and putting our own hoods up and mittens on. I don’t know why we thought it was so funny, I mean it’s cold everywhere else in January. But we did.

From new years and dentist
From new years and dentist
From new years and dentist

We made our way down Main St. and stopped at a lot of the sidewalk sales, but the boys weren’t really in the mood to shop, so we just headed down to Ruby’s to eat.

From new years and dentist

Jacob ate the wrapper to his straw, while the rest of us enjoyed burgers and mac and cheese.

From new years and dentist

When we left, the pier was so pretty. It was still all festive for Christmas so we took a family photo.  Unfortunately, the girl who took the picture didn’t get any of the festive parts in the picture.  Oh well.  Still cute.

From new years and dentist

Before we headed home for the night we stopped in at Starbucks and Caden got his FIRST STARBUCKS BEVERAGE!!! How exciting… gotta write it in the baby book!

From new years and dentist

Jacob ate a cookie.

From new years and dentist

When we got home, Geric tried to get me to stay up until midnight, but I was tired. So I was asleep by 10:30. Can anyone say “party animal?”  Happy New Year!

2 responses

  1. Isn’t there a Ruby’s in Riverside??? I love that you do things I think are crazy, like Disneyland, driving to the beach for a meal, fountains in the summertime. Why of why am I so afraid to go places with my kids? You inspire me, your holiday celebration sounds perfect.

Leave a Reply

