It’s Family Night, y’all!

After a family night break for the holidays, we got back into the swing of things last Monday and had a cowboy themed family night, in honor of Woody, of course.

I got an idea from watching Toy Story to make a western town out of cardboard boxes.  The boys loved it!!!  The poor cardboard boxes withstood the strength of two little boys for an evening, and then they were trashed.  But it was fun while it lasted.  🙂

 

From Cowboy Family Night
From Cowboy Family Night
From Cowboy Family Night

Afterwards, we made some cowboy cookies.  It was actually Laura Bush’s recipe that I found online.  And apparently she’s quite the baker because those cookies were DE-LI-CIOUS!  (I’m not sure what makes them “cowboy” cookies, but honestly, after tasting them, I really don’t care.)

 

From Cowboy Family Night

We all wore our cowboy/cowgirl hats and bandanas at dinner, which was turkey chili and biscuits.  And we enjoyed some country music while we ate.  Geric LOVED it! Oh, and of course Woody joined us for dinner.

From Cowboy Family Night
From Cowboy Family Night
From Cowboy Family Night

 

I had planned a couple of games after dinner, that took a little spin of their own.  We were going to do a quick draw contest with our nerf guns, but Geric showed the boys how you can stick the darts to the ceiling, so we ended up doing this instead.

 

From Cowboy Family Night
From Cowboy Family Night
From Cowboy Family Night

Then, we were going to have horse races with the different rocking horses and stick horses, but the boys just ended up running after after Geric while he played with the horse.  (This picture is too hilarious not to post.  Right after I took it I fell on the floor laughing with tears in my eyes.  It’s seriously one of the funniest pictures I’ve ever seen of my husband!!!)

From Cowboy Family Night
One response

  1. I love that you dress up for family night. Your last few posts have inspired me. Not to do family night, but to rent Toy Story. It is currently waiting for me at the library so we will be having a family movie night soon!

Leave a Reply

