Book Review

I am well aware that there is a large group of my friends who are reading rubbish, AKA the Twilight series.  I know, Edward is amazing and the story is so gripping and blah, blah, blah, I’ve heard it all… from the jr, highers at youth group!  Haha!   I thought I would share my thoughts on a couple other books I have read, just in case you all want to venture outside a fourth grade reading level.  I kid, I kid.

Okay, the first book I LOVED was Water for Elephants.  The characters we so well developed and you think its going to end one way, but then there’s a twist and you’re like, whoa, didn’t see that one comin’.  You really end up feeling for the characters and I couldn’t put the book down.  It goes back and forth from the present to 50 years ago with a traveling circus.  Really original.  Two thumbs up!  But I will warn you, there are a couple of extremely explicit sex scenes and you can’t fast forward a book, you know?  So, if you don’t like that kind of stuff (not that I like that kind of stuff, but I can see the forest for the trees, people) you might want to skip a few pages here and there.   

The other book that I read in one day (and I haven’t done that since fourth grade when I was obsessed with Babysitters Club… oooooh, you Twilighters might like that series!  Ha!  I just can’t get enough of this!)  Anyway, the other book I read in one day was Sarah’s Key.  Sooooooooo good.  It takes place during the Holocaust, which usually makes me tummy hurt when I read about it, but this was such a good story.  I cried, I laughed, I was so sad when it ended.  But i loved it!  Two thumbs up, way up!

So, does anyone have any good suggestions for a good read?

7 responses

  1. I do find myself stuck in the young adult genre these days, but hey, at least I’m reading. I LOVED The Hunger Game by Suzanne Collins. I just finished a 4 book trilogy (yeah, that part confused me too) about our society fast forwarded 300 years to a point where everyone undergoes extensive surgery at 16 to be pretty. They’re by Scott Westerfeld (Uglies, Pretties, Specials, Extras). These books are not as good as Twilight or Harry Potter, but they were thought provoking and made me think about the direction our world is headed.

    I have an adult trilogy to read next. The Mark of the Lion. They are by a Christian author too so I will be leaving the world of vampire romance and underage wizards for a month or so. Maybe, just maybe, I will read Water for Elephants this year. I have heard great things about it.

  2. If you like spiritual warfare kind of books, that are non-fictional, anything by Frank Peretti is good. My favorite book/books are by him. This Present Darkness and Piercing the Darkness, it is a 2 book series, I also really liked The Oath by him as well. I am also trying to read the Bourne Series, there are 5 books in that set. 🙂

  3. I am 30 pages away from finishing my first book since High School… almost 10 years ago 🙂 Crazy huh? But It’s “The Dreams of my Father” By Obama! I loved it… maybe because I think he is awesome, but it’s nice to know about the man running our country, where he learned his values, decisions he made before he ever became president and that he is a good person for the people. Loved it! Im gonna go get his next one- Audacity of Hope… Maybe Ill read your elephant book next- Its a new years resolution, less TV and more reading- GO ME!

  4. OMG I about peed my pants… this post was FUNNY…. 🙂 Yes I DID like Twilight 🙂 but you know, I am a fourth grader at heart :)…

    I am currently reading Robin Cook. He writes medical thrillers…. Kinda like CSI but in a book form :).

    I am read his book, Outbreak. It was written back in 82 I think but they made a movie of it and I never saw it so I am going to watch it once I am done :).

  5. I loved Water for Elephants too. I need to check out your other suggestion. It sounds interesting. Have you checked out Goodreads? You can link up with friends and see what they’re reading and get recommendations. I’ll send you an invite through Facebook.

Leave a Reply

