My Teamer

Those of you that know me well know that when I graduated from college, I was slightly directionless.  I got my degree to be a teacher, but that just wasn’t jivin’ with me.  I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do, but I knew that wasn’t it (at least right then.)  So after some thought and talking to my pastor, I decided to take a plunge and move to Honduras.  Crazy, right?  It was.  But after a lot of prayer, I knew that that was where God wanted me.  So, I literally packed my bags and moved far, far away.

That time was not easy by any means.  I was extremely homesick.  (Remember, I’m the kid that thinks moving a half an hour away from mom and dad is too far!) And living in a third world country where you aren’t fluent in the language can make you feel isolated, so I was kind of depressed.

But one of the best things that could have ever happened to me, happened while I was there.  I met Robin Hanna.  We totally clicked from the get go. We made up nicknames for each other and called each other “Teamer” the whole time I was there and it evolved into “Teater” and then to “Teat” and then to “Teat-a-leat”  eventually into the really annoying, “Teat-a-leat-teat-teat-teat-teat-teat-teater!”  Super annoying, right? 

But Robin is just amazing!  Have you ever met someone that just shines Jesus out of their pores?  That’s her.  She lives life with her eyes glued on Jesus and taught me so much about following Him and being completely surrendered to His will.  I mean, she’s not deaf, nor are any of her family members, but she decided as an adult to learn sign language and then, on a missions trip to Honduras, decided that her calling in life was to teach Honduran deaf people to communicate through sign.  (Most of them didn’t have a way to communicate and were shunned by society.)  So she left the comforts of home and moved to Honduras ALONE to fulfill God’s call on her life.  She is so faithful and so in love with Jesus.  She started an organization called Signs of Love, or Senas de Amor in Honduras, and their mission is to teach the deaf how to communicate and to tell them about Jesus in the process.

While I was there, Signs of Love was just taking off.  We mostly traveled and scouted out where the deaf were, and started these small little sign language classes.  But I got her newsletter today and it seriously blows my mind at how much this ministry has grown.  They had summer camp with 136 people!  The deaf church that was such a baby has totally grown and become a real church.  It’s so awesome.

What’s even more awesome, is that Robin has finally found her real Teamer.  She has always talked about finding the right guy and getting married and having that partner in life, and I got an email a few weeks ago and it’s finally happened.  I haven’t met him, but he must be pretty amazing, because she is one special lady. 

 

 

Enrique Speaks with His HandsOne more thing, in the newsletter I got there was an article about a book that has been written about a deaf boy in Honduras.  For all you CBCers, it was written by Ben Fudge and illustrated by Tim Edmonson.  It’s a picture book and I thought some of you might be interested in getting it for your kiddos.  I did.  It’s called Enrique Speaks With His Hands, and you can find it on amazon.com. 

Oh, one more thing. (I was lying before when I said, “one more thing.”) If you’re a praying person, add Robin and Jeff and Signs of Love to your list.  They are such servants and so faithful and just awesome.  Pray that God continues to use them touch the hearts of the deaf in Honduras and to make a kingdom difference.

Leave a Reply

