Easter Shopping

I haven’t vented on here in awhile (and God forbid I turn into one of those gushy mommy blogs that’s so sugary sweet that I make your teeth hurt!) So here goes.

Yesterday I thought ahead and decided to go get some outfits for the boys to wear on Easter.  I didn’t want to get those sweater vests or ties or anything, but I wanted them to look nicer than the usual t-shirts and blue jeans that they wear everyday.  And I didn’t want to spend more than $30 on both.  So i thought we would go to Kohl’s.  They always have good sales.

On the way there I took a wrong turn and ended up going WAY out of the way because I couldn’t make a u-turn for miles, literally miles!  So when we finally got to Kohl’s I was slightly annoyed.  Then I go to pop the trunk to take out the stroller.  No stroller.  Awesome.  Thank God Kohl’s have those little carts (that are as easy to maneuver as a wheel barrel full of rocks.)

So we get to the kids section and now I’m down right peeved.  Why? you ask.  Well, I found the ONE display of boys nice clothes that were priced at $25 a shirt (on sale!) and I looked around and saw a sea (A SEA, people!) full of pink and fluff and sparkles!  And most were under $15.  What the heck!?!?   Even Target had masses of pretty little dresses and (once again) ONE section for boys.  The girls even got dresses on the end of the underwear aisles.  Are clothing designers really that limited when it comes to creating something for a male toddler?  Are buyers really that narrow minded that they only select a few boy outfits and a trillion girls’?  

I’m starting to get superbly annoyed with the sexism that is going on in the children’s department of most clothing stores.  If you’re a mother of boys, you know exactly what I’m talking about.  Boys need to dress nice on Easter, too.  When did it become a girl holiday? 

Maybe I should write a letter.  Maybe I should start a movement.  Mothers of boys, UNITE!

9 responses

  1. At least you don’t have to tell your daughter no 5000 times at the store as she tells you all about all the clothes and toys she wants that are pink, pink, pink.

  2. Man, imagine what it was like to buy boys clothes in 1997… nothing! They did not have all the little quicksilver/Hurley stuff then and old navy was all sports themed.

  3. I have to agree with you and it seems to be getting worse 😦 I wanted to spend $40 on two Easter outfits. I had trouble finding one outfit for that price–it was ridiculous! I’m still searching, so if you find a good deal somewhere with a decent selection let me know! I’m going to check JCPenney’s this weekend.

Leave a Reply

