The Bubble Burst

I’m going back and forth about writing this post.  Most likely, I’ll type it all out, proofread it a gazillion times, and let it sit in my drafts until I decide whether or not to publish it.  But if you’re reading it, I suppose I published it.

A few months ago I was sitting with Geric in our living room and we were talking about how it felt like a lot of people around us were really getting put through the wringer.  We knew people with illnesses, major financial problems, sick children, and other heart breaking tragedies.  My exact words to him at that time were, “Doesn’t it just feel like we’re in this bubble and we’re so blessed?”

Well, the bubble burst.  

I’m not going to give too much detail, and please don’t ask, but we’re getting to spend our own time in the wringer.  And it sucks.  

One thing I can share is that Geric lost his job at Water of Life.  Once again, I’m not giving any details… if you know what’s going on it’s because I want you to know.  If you don’t, then I know I can’t stop you from speculating or gossiping or whatever else people do when something big like this happens, but perhaps, instead, you could just pray for us.  It happens.  We’ll get through it.  

Another thing I can share is that we are so blessed to be surrounded by so many caring people that truly, truly love us in ways that I didn’t even know.  So many people inside and outside of Water of Life have rallied around us and held us close when we needed it the most.  I feel like I have seen God’s face so clearly through this experience, so when it starts to feel too sad and too scary, the love that I feel from my Father consumes me and reassures me that we’re going to be okay.  Yes, He’s stretching us.  Yes, He’s growing us.  But through this, we will become stronger.

Anyway, all this to say, I’m going to be taking a hiatus from this here blog.  It just feels kinda weird to be going through so much and posting things like “Family Night” or my cute kids.  (Even though they are so stinkin’ cute.)  I’m not sure when I’ll be back.  I guess when it feels right.  I’m still going to check all your blogs and email to keep in touch so I’m not falling off the planet or anything, just stepping back for a minute.

Keep us in your prayers.

13 responses

  1. Erin…
    I’m so sorry! Kiddo… I’m going to pray for you! Hang in there my friend! Love you bunches! I’m glad you’re taking time to sort through stuff. I’ll miss your blogging, it’s one of my favorite ones to read! (Did you ever think about writting a book?) Well, love you tons. Hang in there!

  2. You already know this, but it never hurts to hear it a bazillionth time. I am praying for your family. I eagerly await your return to blog land, but in the meantime I pray.

  3. My prayers are with you and your precious family.

    The devotion in this small devotional I read yesterday really spoke to my heart for you. Here ya go:
    From “Jesus Calling” by Sarah Young
    May 7
    “If you learn to trust me–really trust Me–with you whole being, then nothing can separate you from My Peace. Everything you endure can be put to good use by allowing it to train you in trusting Me. This is how you foil the works of evil, growing in grace through the very adversity that was meant to harm you. Joseph was a prime example of this divine reversal, declaring to his brothers: ‘You meant evil against me, but God meant it for good.’

    Do not fear what this day, or any day, may bring your way. Concentrate on trusting Me and on doing what needs to be done. Relax in My sovereignty, remembering that I go before you, as well as with you, into each day. Fear no evil, for I can bring good out of every situation you will ever encounter.”

    [Genesis 50:20 (NASB); Psalm 23:4]

  4. I am so sorry, your family is in my prayers. Kyle and I have seen so many marriages destroyed recently that it is encouraging to see you guys facing this as a team. I know God will see you through this.

  5. Erin,
    Hey, we’re praying for ya’ll and we love ya’ll so much!! Please be encouraged, because God is so faithful and He is a God of peace and direction. Anytime, you would like to talk or get together, please call me!!
    Blessings,
    Divina (Phil. 3:14)

  6. Erin, I will be praying for you and your family. Please let me know if you need anything. I make a mean sloppy joe casserole if you need dinner.
    God Bless you.

  7. Pingback: Going Back into Ministry? Maybe...

Leave a Reply

