Life Outside the Bubble

It’s really not too bad out here.  Really.  At first it was bad and then it got really, really bad, but now it’s actually kinda good.  Weird, right?  Let me explain.

I feel like we’re on this journey.  I guess we’ve always been, but right now it just feels like we’ve hit a brand new terrain, and it’s beautiful.  It actually started before Geric lost his job.  

We went to the Refuge.  Have you been there?  If not, you should.  If you’re anything like me, you’re probably freaked out to go there because you’ve heard all the rumors, like I did… people falling over, rolling on the floor, dancing with gigantic flags, getting all “drunk in the Spirit.”  I will not deny that some of those things do happen.  Is it authentic?  Maybe, maybe not, but who am I to judge?  Is it biblical?  Not totally sure, but who am I to put God in a box and say that He couldn’t make all those things happen?  I mean, He did create the universe, right?  I do know that I was so offended by all the goings-on over there, that I missed out on the beauty that they had a hold of.

So, Geric and I went there and we were prayed over by some intercessors.  It was the first time that I had people I didn’t know pray over me and prophesy… which was something else that TOTALLY weirded me out.  But, guys, it’s awesome.  All it is, is hearing what God thinks about you.  And He thinks you’re pretty amazing, you know???  So, these ladies spoke these words over us that truly, truly touched me heart.  They saw things in us that they only could have seen had they been listening to God.  It really rocked my world.

So, fast forward… after Geric lost his job, we went on a little retreat in Missouri.  We flew into Kansas City so we stopped by the International House of Prayer, not be confused with the International House of Pancakes!  Ha!  Anyway, this place was amazing.  It looks like a church with a band up front worshipping and someone reading the Bible on and off, but the difference is, they don’t stop… ever.  They are praying right now and they’ll be praying whenever it is that you read this, and the next day and the next day and the next day, 24/7.  It’s pretty cool.  We had some women pray for us there also, and it was another awesome experience.  

I’m not sure what the rules are with the prophetic, but I’m gonna share a little of what they told me… I hope I’m not breaking the rules!  J/K  One woman told me that she kept seeing Proverbs 31, like I’m the Proverbs 31 woman.  Not to toot my own horn, but she was totally right on, don’t you agree?  😉  She said that the one of the verses that was highlighted to her was the verse that said “She is clothed in strength and dignity.”  Then she looked at me and said that she saw my strength like a tower and I would be holding up my husband for right now.  It seriously gave me chills, because, hello, my husband is feeling a little defeated right about now.  He needs a little holding up, and at the moment I wasn’t sure I was up to it, but that sure made me feel strong.  Isn’t God awesome?

So we went on our retreat, came home, suffered a few bumps in the road and landed ourselves back at the Refuge for Jake’s CD release party.  We got prayed for again by an amazing couple that ran a prayer house in San Francisco, because now I’m just totally addicted to hearing God’s voice and His love for me.  Between those two prayer warriors and Jake’s incredible worship, there was just this shift with us.  

I can’t explain it, but the best way I can say it is that God has done a miracle for us.  It’s like He’s had this gigantic box filled with His love and we’ve just been peeking in when we feel like it, but now we’ve jumped in head first.  I seriously feel like my relationship with God is so much more that it used to be, so much more that I even knew it could be.  I never knew the depth of His love the way that I know it now.  I know my words could never acurately describe what we’ve been through or the experiences that we’ve had, but it’s just been amazing.  I can say with confidence that I’m glad our bubble burst.  I’m glad we were forced to go on this new journey, because it is just so beautiful and so fulfilling, and so much more than I could have ever dreamed.

It kind of feels like (in the words of my friend, Nicci) like we’ve jumped off this cliff and we’re soaring through the air, but instead of being afraid of hitting the bottom, we’re just soaring.  We know God will take care of us, and we’ll land safely, so right now we’re just soaring in His presence.  And yes, some people may look at us like we’re crazy and frantically wave their arms and shout, “You’re not going to be okay!  The ground is coming quickly!  Do something!”  But I know the voice of God, and it’s louder than all those other voices and He’s already told me that’s it going to be okay.

So that’s the past two months in a nutshell.  I’m back in the blog world.  Although I didn’t really miss it, so I’m not sure how often I’ll be here, but I’m back.

7 responses

  1. Can’t wait to read more about your journey! Praise God that you have been encouraged with His hope for your future! Keep on truckin’ in His footsteps!

  2. Awesome! I’m jealous in a good way. Thank you so much for sharing . . . who needs a bubble burst; I need to just jump off a “cliff” and soar right with you!!!

  3. Hey girl, that was beautiful, it brought tears to my eyes. The encouragement and the freedom in your words is only “God”. You should share your blog and post a note on FB, it’s really great!
    Blessings,
    Divina

  4. I keep hoping you will enter something on your blog. Miss the stories and pictures of the boys. Are you not going to blog any more? Here I am up in the trees hoping, hoping………..

Leave a Reply

