Fall Family Night

In the beginning of November we did a fall family night.  It was really a lot of fun!  In the afternoon the boys and I went out in our neighborhood to look for leaves.  There were actually a lot of them, and they had a lot of fun throwing them around.

DSC04634

DSC04635

DSC04642

DSC04644

DSC04646

When we got home, we made crowns out of our leaves to wear during dinner.

DSC04647

I made a REALLY yummy meal… not to toot my own horn or anything.  But I just have to take a second and RAVE about the I Love Trader Joe’s Cookbook.  It is by far, the best cookbook I’ve ever had!  Everything I’ve made out of it is sooooo good, and so easy and fast, and usually pretty healthy.  And, even if you don’t live near a Trader Joe’s, you can still cook the meals using stuff from the regular grocery store, because Trader Joe’s is a little pricey… especially compared to Winco.  Anyway, I made a yummy turkey with green chili sauce, because the cookbook said it was a “warming autumn dinner.”  See?

DSC04652

DSC04656

After dinner we played a game where we stood on a stool and had to make crayons “fall” into a cup.   It was fun, mostly because the boys had an advantage and totally whooped our booties!

DSC04658

DSC04662

DSC04666

I love family night. I really, really do.

3 responses

  1. Hi Erin–
    What a great post! Your boys are adorable, and I am so happy to see that there are some families left who don’t just sit in front of glowing screens together! (The first photo reminds me so much of my son Kevin, who is all grown up now, and took the photos for the I Love Trader Joe’s Cookbook”!)
    I’m delighted to hear that you are cooking good stuff for your family from the book! That gives me great pleasure– I hope you’ll have many happy meals from those pages.
    If local books stores don’t have the book, Amazon has a great price on it. In case your readers are interested:
    http://bit.ly/d0yvW
    Thanks again-
    Cherie

Leave a Reply

