Abigail and Emma

My nieces are here!!  Did you hear me?  I’m an auntie!!!!!  Hooray!  Here’s the story of their arrival.

My mom and I flew up to Oakland last Friday, January 22nd.  We were supposed to be going up there for my sister’s baby shower, but since she was stuck in the hospital since new year’s eve with preeclampsia, the shower was postponed.  But we wanted to see her anyway, so away we flew.  We got there around 1 or 2, and my sis was telling us how she had a headache all day and was seeing stars and all this crazy stuff that happens when you have preeclampsia.  The doctor came in around 5 to talk to her about her lab results, and after a brief conversation and some double checking of the labs, he said, “I think it’s time we have some babies.”  Whoa!!!!  Hold it right there, Mr. Doctor!  My sis is only 32 weeks pregnant!  We all got a little nervous and a little weepy, so I started telling jokes… becuase that’s what I do.  Then I took some pictures.

Here’s where she stayed for about a month.

DSC05118

Here’s my mom calling my dad to tell him he’s gonna be a Pop again.

DSC05120

Here’s one last belly shot.

DSC05123

And here’s some comfort for the stressed out and scared… which was actually all of us, but I only got a shot of the two of them, which makes sense because they were probably the most stressed out and scared.

DSC05122

We got over to labor and delivery and Rob donned his awesome new outfit.

DSC05124

And we waited.  Ho… hum…  And I told a few more jokes.

DSC05125

Then it was time.  They wheeled my sis away and my mom and I waited some more.  And about 30 minutes later two of the cutest baby girls I have ever seen got wheeled right past me!  They stopped so we could see them, and they were PERFECT!  I know, I’m biased, but they we just so precious!  Little Emma Rose, who only weighed 2 pounds 14 ounces was all wide eyed and looking around (probably thinking, “Where the heck is my sis!?!?” That’s what I would be thinking!) But she was doing great!  Abigail Anne weighed in at 3 pounds 9 ounces but was harder to see because she needed some oxygen, but I knew she was just as pretty as her sis.

DSC05133

DSC05135

DSC05141

DSC05140

The next 24 hours really kinda sucked.  My sis was all drugged up and drowsy and her blood pressure was through the roof, so they made her stay in bed while her bunchkins were far away in the NICU.  They were fine up there, and getting taken care of by some awesome nurses, but that just sucks for a mommy, you know?  But eventually she was able to go up and visit with the cuties.

I flew home the next day, and Kristin came home from the hospital on Tuesday, but Abby and Emma need to stay in the NICU for a little while.  Here’s a couple of pictures I got from them today.

19851_1298907465603_1017880770_911981_6318967_n

Abigail Anne Givler

19851_1298906425577_1017880770_911980_5240766_n

Emma Rose Givler, saying “Hello Blogsphere.”  (Such a polite little girl.)
So that’s the story.  Wasn’t it good?
But, pray for my sis.  It’s hard being a mom under normal circumstances, but when you throw in the mix twins and the NICU, then it’s mega-hard.  And I just got word from my Dad that my mom and her are in the ER because her blood pressure is really high again.  Hopefully, she doesn’t get admitted back into the hospital and can focus on her babies!  So, pray for healing and peace and strength!

11 responses

  1. i love this sis…thanks for telling our birth story, b/c only god know when i’ll get to that anytime soon. home from the hospital last night and blood pressure is starting go down (with the help of some good meds). abby and emma and amazing and doing so good. we are so in love and can’t wait for aunties to visit again soon!

    • That is so sweet! I am praying for Kristin”s blood pressure to just calm down for pete sake! and for those cuties patooties to gain weight and get stronger each day! What blessings for your family! Lucky little girls!

  2. What a wonderful story! Wait that was me, my wife, and my little kids! The whole night/week was a blur so thanks for telling the story of my girls birth so well.
    Love ya and come back soon.

    p.s. Your jokes really do help in a tense situation.

  3. Thanks for the story and pictures. Friends of Maw and Pop greatly appreciate. Beautiful girls, but then all the Nelson girls are beautiful.

  4. Thanks for this — so wonderful and sweet. We can’t wait to meet the little charmers. Hugs to Rob and Kristin, we’re so happy for you! You guys are troopers.

  5. Oh Erin, this is beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing with everyone!! It was great to see you a few weeks ago at the hospital, and hopefully again soon. Congrats on being an aunt!

  6. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Ladies! « The DeVincenzo Family

Leave a Reply

