Repercussions of having a Stay at Home Mom

I love having the privilege of being a stay at home mom.  When Caden was born, I thought I was going to have to go back to work full time and the thought of that was so depressing to me.  So, when I quit my job to stay at home we did it completely on faith that God would provide for us, and we didn’t know how long we’d be able to manage.  But look, it’s been 5 years and I’m still at home.  Yes, I teach part time now one night a week, but that’s for my sanity, not for the paycheck.  Because I’m not painting a picture over here like staying at home full time is full of rainbows and unicorns.  It’s the hardest job I’ve ever had, but I wouldn’t change it for the world!

That being said, I feel as if my boys may be suffering some repercussions of our choice from 5 years ago.  Jacob especially.  He’s not one to plop in front of the TV for a movie, or play quietly in his room.  He’s more of a shadow.  He follows me around and does whatever I do.  It’s not always me, sometimes it’s Geric, or if we’re at Maw and Pop’s house, it’s usually Pop.  But since I’m home all day it’s usually me.

Last week, after we dropped off Caden at preschool he said from the back seat “Mom!  We forgot to put the stuff on our face!”  He was panicked!  But what was he talking about.  Sunscreen?  No.  It was cloudy.  “You know, in the bafroom.  The stuff on our face.”  And then it clicked.  My boy has his morning routine, just like mommy and sits on the counter doing this.

IMG_0240

IMG_0245

IMG_0246

IMG_0248

I suppose if Geric was a stay at home dad, he would sit on the counter and shave, right? So I’ll try not to worry.

2 responses

  1. Love this post. Nathan used to do the same. He would like to dip the brush and put it on. Not so much anymore. He’s still MaMa’s boy. But thrown in now are talk of tanks and targets. He has his own morning routine. Like eating “the usual” for breakfast.

    Miss you all.

    Love,
    Shell

  2. okay, erin, so i’ve been reading your blogs. and you are hilarious! i knew you, what, 14 years ago, for just one year, and you were so fun then, and still so much fun! you’ve got me laughing. especially at this post. so i had to comment. i think of you every so often, and more often than you’d think this subject would come up… “put your nikes on!” about the hale bop comet and the crazies that were getting picked up by it in rancho santa fe… also, i noticed you are friends with danielle elgan, which is funny because i went to college with her at san marcos state and her brother in law. daniel elgan. such a small small world. hope all is well and maybe we can catch up!
    rachel (my maiden name is martinez) davis

Leave a Reply

