Thanksgiving Project

So, I’ve seen a lot of my friends on facebook make it their goal to post updates everyday naming something they are thankful for.  While that is a really good idea, it’s not for me.  I think of too many witty updates to put myself in a box like that.  See, there’s one right there.

Anywho, I thought I would put my own little twist on it and make it a family project and get my kids involved.  We started today by talking about Thanksgiving and being thankful what that means and yadda, yadda, yadda.  Afterwards, my plan was have the boys think of one thing they were thankful for and I would write it on a a card and they would draw a picture and then I would hang their card on a string that I hung on the mantle so that by the time Thanksgiving arrived we would have a cute, crafty decoration with all the things they are thankful for.  Whew… that was a long sentence.

So, today being the first day, I thought they would name something obvious… like their mommy.

Caden went first and here’s what he wrote:

IMG_0255

Sweet, right?  I mean, how amazing that he realizes that God is our provision and not man.  He even drew a picture and said that the top is Jesus handing him some food, and then he drew all kinds of food that grows because God makes it.  Man, that kid melts my heart.

IMG_0257

Jacob went next and I thought for sure he would say that he’s thankful for his mommy (especially since I prompted him with the question of, “Can you think of anyone special that you are thankful for?  Anyone?”) I mean, the kid follows me around all day long like my shadow!  In fact he’s standing by my side as I write this, watching me type.  But here’s what he wrote:

IMG_0254

At least he’s honest.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

