Advent: Week 1

I thought of another new family tradition this year… to celebrate advent!  It’s kinda like we’re becoming Catholic (minus the whole praying to Mary, scripted prayers, and standing, sitting, kneeling, standing thing at mass on Sundays.)

After doing some research, I learned that the first week of advent is focused around the first candle, also known as the Candle of Hope.  I decided to turn it into a family night.  We’ll see if this continues every week until Christmas.  Have I mentioned I’m having a baby in less than 3 weeks?  Because I am!

The whole idea of the Candle of Hope, is that God promised to send His Son to us long before He was ever born, and the people held onto that hope, knowing that God would keep His promise.  So, during breakfast, the boys and I talked about what a promise was (which they knew) and then we each promised each other something.  Caden promised to not hurt his brother.  Jacob promised to be a good listener.  I promised to make them whatever they wanted for dinner and dessert.  🙂

After lunch we worked on some booklets that I had made about God’s promises.  We walked about how God ALWAYS keeps His promises, even when we don’t.  So, I found a few Bible verses and we talked about God’s different promises and applied it to their little 3 and 5 year old lives.  Here they are coloring.

IMG_0498

And here is an example of Jacob’s life application.

IMG_0502

Nice.  See the poop? On the ground.  That’s been a regular occurrence lately.  Regression!

That night I kept my promise and made Caden’s favorite dinner, broccoli chicken casserole, that I love!  And brownie sundaes for dessert.

IMG_0505

IMG_0523

Then Geric busted out the Bible and we talked about how God’s best promise was His Son Jesus, who was sent to us on Christmas, oh so many years ago.  Then we lit the Candle of Hope.  It was nice.  I think the boys got it!  Thats always a good thing.

IMG_0510

IMG_0511

Finally, we ended the night with a little game.  In the verse in Isaiah that promises the coming of Jesus, it says that Mary will name Him Immanuel, meaning “God with us.”  We talked about how God is always with us and we’ll never get rid of him.  Then we tied ourselves together and did a three-legged obstacle course race!

IMG_0514

Look at Jacob’s face!!!

IMG_0515

Here’s Caden and I.

IMG_0517

And here’s my sweet boy giving his mama a kiss!  Love him!!!

IMG_0520

Next week is the Candle of Preparation… gotta start thinking.  Hmmmmmmm…

4 responses

  1. Erin,

    You are an amazing mom! I love reading your blog — you make me envious of the time you have to spend with your sons. Number 3 is a very blessed boy to be coming into your home. As mush as you can, given the big change coming in no time at all, keep up the blogging. You are touching and inspiring at least one other mom out there, but I suspect many more 🙂

  2. Hey Erin! I’ve read your blog for quite a long time, but I don’t think I’ve ever left a comment. Regardless…do you think you can post the recipe of your broccoli casserole? It looks SO good! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

