Welcome Baby Elijah!

Our third child has arrived!  Hooray!  I was so nervous about the labor and delivery, that I kinda feel like the hard part is over and it’s all downhill from here… even though I know it’s really not!  Here’s the story of his arrival.

I went to the doctor on Wednesday and I was feeling like Elijah wasn’t going to come for awhile.  Nothing was going on and I was only 2 days away from my due date.  My doctor examined me and said I was 2 cm dilated and only 60% effaced.  Not good.  She stripped my membranes (which is major uncomfortable) but I had that done with Caden and nothing ended up happening to speed along his arrival, so I figured the same would be true here.  I went home with an appointment to be induced on Christmas Eve at 8pm and figured that was probably going to be what happened.

Little did I know.

I woke up Thursday morning at 4:30am to use the restroom and as I was finishing up, my water broke.

Can I just take a moment to talk about water breakage?  Number one, isn’t it convenient that it broke while I was on the toilet?  I say, praise God for that… otherwise we may have been shopping for a new mattress.  Number two, water doesn’t just break and you’re done with it.  It leaks.  A lot.  Like, someone should invent a diaper specifically for this.  Because by the time we had gotten to the hospital (and suffered through the chatty cathy admitting lady who didn’t realize that I was in the throes of contractions!) I had leaked through two pads and looked like Jacob on a very defiant day.

Anyway, we got to the hospital at 6am, and I was bound and determined NOT to get an epidural.  They didn’t work with Caden or Jacob, plus I got the horrible spinal headache with Caden, so I thought, I’m just going to suck it up, get through it, and make it to the other side!  (See why I was scared??)  I had read books and even bought Hypnobabies Home Study course, but I was the worst student on Earth, so I wasn’t too prepared to use it. I made it ’til 9:30 before I broke down.  🙂

Let me just say this… back labor sucks.  Front labor (if that’s what you call it) has NOTHING on back labor.

So, I begged for an epidural and prayed to the Lord Almighty that it would work this time, and PRAISE JESUS, because it did.  See?

IMG_0599

I’m smiling.

Well, after the epidural took effect, they emptied my bladder with a catheter, and really, that’s all Elijah needed to make his move…. for my pee to get out of his way.  Half an hour later I was pushing and after 7 contractions, Elijah Aaron DeVincenzo entered the world!

IMG_0612

IMG_0614

He weighed in at a whopping 7lb. 9oz. (the biggest of all my babies, by one ounce!) and measured 21 inches long.  Isn’t he cute?

IMG_0629

IMG_0631

Look at those toes!

IMG_0627

He took his first bath.

IMG_0653

Handsome man!

IMG_0658

Then he met his brothers!  Jacob petted his head and thought he was cute.

IMG_0688

Caden loved him right away and couldn’t stop looking at him!  He’s going to be an AWESOME big brother.  Although, he was quite concerned about his mommy being in the hospital with a shot in her arm and a band aid on her back.  Such a sweet little first born I have!

IMG_0689

They both enjoyed the hospital bed!

IMG_0670

We took our first family photo as a party of five!

IMG_0695

Then we got pictures with all our visitors!

IMG_0675

IMG_0713

IMG_0717

IMG_0706

IMG_0723

Why didn’t we take one of my mom holding the baby??? Busted! These are her hands though. 🙂

IMG_0659

Elijah had a little hearing test… does this not crack you up?

IMG_0721

He passed!

IMG_0722

Happy mommy with precious baby.

IMG_0714

After waiting a day and half for lab results to come back, we were finally discharged to go home.  Here’s Elijah in his cute “going home outfit.”

IMG_0729

IMG_0730

But he wasn’t too thrilled with the car seat!

IMG_0734

We’ve been home for a day now, and I already feel like I’m head over heels in love with my newest little man.  Isn’t it amazing how God just expands your heart?  When you feel like there’s no more room for love it, amazingly enough, there is!  I’m cherishing the newborn stage this time around, because I’m pretty positive this is the last time for us.  Last night when he was wide awake at 3am, we just stared at each other and I was so happy and lost in that moment.  I wasn’t even think about the lack of sleep or the full day I had ahead of me.  I was just thinking, take this in.  It goes by in a blink of an eye.  He’s never again be this small, or this soft, so just don’t blink.

 

So, welcome Baby Elijah, to our little family! We love you so much already and know you are going to find your perfect little place here.  Soon enough you’ll be wresting and sword fighting the bad guys with the best of them!  Happy birthday little man!

5 responses

  1. Just wait, four months you are going to think “Hey this isn’t so bad, we could totally have another one!” But for now, that is one gorgeous little boy!

  2. You are so right on how God expands our hearts. I just love all three of my nephews. You are a great mom and my brother isn’t so bad.
    I am always here to help just call.

Leave a Reply

