Blogging Anew

Last week I launched this new and improved sight.

Doesn’t that sound exciting?  Like I’m part of the space program or something.

Well, a few things have happened since then.

First of all, I obsess.  I think I have an obsessive personality.  Actually, I know I do.  I start getting interested in the slightest thing and I need to know all the info behind it and spend most of my time thinking about it.  For example, when we bought our minivan, I researched every minivan on the market and scoured Craigs List and Autotrader for the best deals for months.  That’s just the way I am.  So, it kind of makes sense that I would be the same way about this blog.  Learning the techie ins and outs of getting it all set up, networking on major blog sites, thinking of topics to write, checking stats to make sure all my research is working, setting up links to facebook and twitter, etc.  It can be overwhelming and exhausting.  

Secondly, strangers showed up on my doorstep.  Not literally.  I mean, on my blog’s doorstep.  And honestly, I don’t mind strangers reading my blog, that’s kind of the point here.  Welcome strangers!  What I do mind, however, are the people that stop by and leave a comment without even reading my post.  It’s totally obvious that they are from one of the aforementioned blogging networking sites and have read the first sentence of a post and nothing else and then left a comment in order to increase the traffic of their own blog.  I get it, it’s the name of the game.  Increased traffic = bigger audience = a more successful blog.  But it’s kind of uncomfortable for me.  I mean, I write from my heart.  This is my life.  These are my kids.  This is my family.  I’m letting you in.  You don’t just barge into my house without wiping your feet on the doormat, right?  It just feels…weird.

P R E S S U R E ! Thats the last thing that happened.  SInce I was checking my stats, I saw that my readership (is that a word?) has gone up.  Yay!  But along with that I felt pressure.  People think I’m funny… they like what I write… they’ll come back for more… what if I can’t deliver? 

Yesterday it became too much.  I walked away from the computer (just like the little guy with the bullhorn in my brain was telling me to do) and gave Geric my phone and made him hold it.  He actually TURNED IT OFF!  *gasp*   But, honestly, after the inital shock, it felt good and free.  I looked around at my boys , who, frankly I had been neglecting (slightly) for the past week and I realized, they are my life.  Not blogging.  Yes, I love writing.  It comes naturally.  It’s a great outlet when things go a little haywire.  But it’s not my life.  My family is my life.

So, I’ve decided to make some rules before I go any further.

1.  No more neglecting my kids… It’s not like I was leaving them alone in a swimming pool to drown, but they were playing A LOT of Super Mario Brothers… I think they conquered the game. :/

2.  I’m taking the pressure off.  I started blogging for the love of writing, so I need to continue to do that.  So what if my traffic doesn’t increase?  So what if I’m not on every mommy blog website?  I will survive.  Honest to God.

3.  Honestly, I don’t know what to do about the strangers.  I guess, just let it slide off my back?  Hey, maybe they’ll help me out.  But I still think they should wipe their feet on the doormat.

So, how about you, my fellow bloggers… do you ever feel the pressure?  How do you handle it?

2 responses

  1. I think it is terrific that you are asking yourself these questions and that you are willing to work out your thoughts in front of your reading audience. As you know, my blog isn’t a high traffic blog by any means, but from the start I have really tried to write for the joy of writing and connecting with other people. As long as that remains at the forefront of what I do, I can’t go wrong. So, knowing the purpose of your blog is important. My husband has a blog and his is much more “intentional” to borrow your word and invites in many more “strangers.”. He has struggled with some of the same things you mention, but always comes back to why he is writing — for the joy of sharing something he loves (His blog is a Disneyland blog — daysinthepark.com). I’m really impressed by what you are doing. As Sylvia Plath said, “Writing takes courage.” I’m impressed with the courage you have shown 🙂

  2. I wiped my feet.

    Write what you want, when you want. First-line bombers will only read the first line if your boys are dressed with brushed teeth or not. Those of us who bother to wipe our feet will appreciate what you write *when* you write.

    You have more courage than I. My phone is never more than 3 feet away from my person at any time…

Leave a Reply

