thirtysomething

I remember being 11 or 12 and watching TV and seeing a commercial for thirtysomething.  Remember that show?  It was on in the late eighties/early nineties.  I never watched it.  I was too young.  The only thing I remember is watching a commercial and thinking, What a dumb show.  Who would want to watch a show all about old people? 

Today I realized, those “old people” are my people.  I’m not sure when or how it happened, but those are my people.  

Geric’s birthday is today and we were talking about how he’s 34 now and how he is officially in his mid-thirties, which made me think of that show.  And then it hit me that he’s in his mid-thirties.  Like, for reals.  The next thing you know he’ll be in his late-thirties and then he’ll be… gulp… forty!  (And I’m not that far behind!)

I know.  By no means is thirtysomething old.  So, if you’re reading this and you’re fiftysomething or sixtysomething, I don’t think you’re old.  It’s just that, and I know this sounds really, really stupid, but I never thought I would actually be in my mid-thirties.  I didn’t think I would die young or anything, it just felt unattainable.  When my teachers would give us the journal topic “Describe what your life will be like when you’re 30” it fell into the same category as “What would you do with a million dollars?”  It just won’t ever happen, but I’ll pretend like it will and tell you what it would be like in this little fantasyland you’re referring to.  It was always too far away.  But look, here she is smiling right in my mirror with crow’s feet, dark circles under her eyes, and the occasional strange dark hair sprouting out of her chin.

What’s really weird is that I don’t feel like I’m any different than I was 12 years ago when I was 20.  I mean, I’m married and have kids, but I still feel like me.  I don’t walk around all hunched over, holding my side, and moaning, “Oh, my achin’ back!”  But I don’t think that really happens until fiftysomething, right?  I feel like if there was a new thirtysomething and my friends and I were the cast, teens wouldn’t think we were old people, right?  But I guess they kinda would… and that really trips me out!  Because wasn’t I just a teen, like yesterday?

I’m not even sure how I feel about the whole aging process.  So far it’s just happened, without much thought on my part.  Yes, the physical qualities are less than stellar.  Too many of my friends are talking about getting Botox… so not kidding.  But I guess the whole maturing and gaining wisdom with age is pretty cool.

I don’t know.  I guess that was a lot of rambling.

Do you feel your age?

7 responses

  1. I hear ya, Erin! The only thing about me that “feels” thirtysomething are the gray hairs I have to remember to dye! 🙂

    I actually remember when my mom turned 30! She had such a hard time with it. I LOVED 30, and I am enjoying every year of my thirtysomethings!

    • Gray hair! That’s what I forgot! I never knew that happened in your thirties. It seems like such a fifties/sixties type of thing. Who knew?

  2. Ok. First let me start by saying that I watched that show. I was in college. Seeing that you were only 11 or 12 doesn’t help. But I understand totally what you are saying. Usually when I am around women my age, I feel so much younger than them. Not saying I look younger, just feel younger. But I think that may come from my perspective on life. Or that I just have not “matured”. Proudly I can say that I enjoy the child in me. I think it is that quality that will help us to stay young. Not Botox. Not hair dye. No fancy creams. Love you.

    • See, Michelle? I totally feel like we’re the same age… 22! 🙂 It must be the children in us, but sure like her. I hope she never grows up!

  3. I so don’t feel my age, well most of the time. I tend to forget how old I really am. Usually when someone asks me how old I am, I have to subract my birth year from the current year to be accurate. Inside my own head I still feel like I’m 20 something – by no means 30 something. Maybe its our children that keep us young at heart – I mean who can feel old when you watch Sesame Street or Sponge Bob or Phineas and Ferb? Or visits to Disneyland when all you get to ride are the ones with a without a height requirement? And who can feel old when you get to spend all day reading picture books on the carpet and teaching simple addition? The time I feel old are when I go out with my “adult” friends only and I’m yawning at 8 p.m – and not wanting to drink because I’ll be damned if that alcohol gets in the way of the few sweet hours I get to sleep – and no one my age knows what sleeping in is any more… So there you have it – you are as young or as old as you fell. Maybe I should keep hanging out with kids…

    • I have to do the math problem in my head all the time, and even then I get tripped up because my birthday is in October, so for most of the year the math doesn’t add up! So, true about our kids keeping us young, and feeling old around adults friends. The last time I felt really old was at a Bachelorette party. There, I felt about 55!

  4. Funny you mentioned this topic. I’ve had the saying, “Youth is wasted on the young” stuck in my head for the last 3 months. Because it is. If I had the ______ now that I had then, I would appreciate it a lot more (fill in the blank with whatever – metabolism, figure, skin, energy…).

Leave a Reply

