Road Trip!

Warning:  The next week or so is going to be filled with lots of pictures and personal going-ons around here.  If you know me, you may be interested in reading our virtual scrapbook.  If not, you may still be interested, but it’s going to be a departure from my regular crazy thoughts that swim around in brain and I vomit onto this here blog.

A couple of months ago, my Gramma died.  The way the Nelson’s work is that when someone dies, we cremate them and then all get together for a memorial at our earliest convenience, given that the cousins are coming from all over the country.  (Okay, maybe that’s not the way we work, but we’ve done it twice and so now it’s the way we work.)

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago was the weekend that worked for everyone.  It was a little bit of a time crunch for us, given that kindergarten orientation was on Friday at 10:30am and school started Monday at 8:30am, so we had to fit a 7 hour each way road trip and a memorial and a family BBQ into about a day and a half… with three kids, in a minivan.  Try to contain your jealousy.  

This is what we packed.

IMG_2380

We also had two sleeping bags, a blow up mattress, and a stroller already in the car. Did I mention that we were staying for a day and a half?  Kids are a blast.

About an hour and half in to the trip, we realized that the move player broke!

IMG_2384

I really thought we were going to die.  We had never driven that long without our precious little distracting friend, and I thought we would never make it out alive.  But then I calmed down, and realized that my mom and dad used to make this trip all the time with the three of us kids and we never had a movie player.  If I could do it, my boys could do it!

They colored and chatted, and sang songs, and then we had a little photo shoot.

IMG_2389

IMG_2400

IMG_2393
my favorite… haha! Totally an accident by the way.  My son is not a hellion.  

IMG_2402

IMG_2419

We also saw a lot of these trucks carrying tomatoes.  My question for you is this:  How do the tomatoes on the bottom survive?  I mean, there’s the whole squish factor, and then it was also 100 degrees on the ride up.  Anyone know?  I’m serious.

IMG_2405

We made it to my sister’s house just in time for a spaghetti dinner and a little fun with the cute patoots, before we left to spend the night and my Grandma’s house.

More to come tomorrow…

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Picaboo

Leave a Reply

