Goodbye Borders

I know I have to get back to our trip, but I almost forgot to post this!

When Geric and I went out last week (for the second time alone since Elijah has been born) we stopped in at Borders for their giant closing sale.  And you know what’s sadder than Geric and I only getting two nights alone in the last nine months?  Borders closing!

I know the Kindle and the Nook are the wave of the future, but I’m seriously like that woman on the commercial for the Kindle that just likes the feeling of folding down the corner of a page.  I like the actual action of turning the page and bending back the cover of a paperback.  I like the smell of a new book and the feel of an old book in my hands.  I know books aren’t gone forever, but Borders closing signifies the end of an era, people!  And I’m just not comfortable with it at all!

So, the bookshelves were obviously close to bare, but there were a few treasures, should you decide to visit and get a brand new book for 70% off.  Here are some of the winners I found that I thought my readers may be interested in.

Here’s a couple for the jr. higher in you:

IMG00643-20110903-2049

IMG00644-20110903-2051

What’s Your Poo Telling You is actually a daily calendar, that if I was to buy, I would probably keep in the bathroom.  Don’t let that one get away!  And did you catch that one of the authors is an M.D.?  They’re practically medical encyclopedias, you know.

We all know that I’m a big reality TV fan.  So this one caught my eye as well.

IMG00640-20110903-2045

Exciting!!!!  This one must be riveting, on-the-edge-of-your-seat, no-I-cannot-put-this-book-down-to go-to-bed kind of reading, right?  Right?  Right.

Hello!  As if we didn’t think Hilary Duff was already talented enough, seeing as she is not only a breakout Disney star, but a pop artist (I pronounce that as arteest) and an actress, now she’s an author.  All the cool kids are doing it.  LC is an author too, you know?

IMG00645-20110903-2056

In my opinion, you can never know too much about Abba.  Never.  Never.  Never.  Tap, tap on the guy in the back in the brown leisure suit, casually leaning to the left and saying “What up, laaaaadies” with his eyes.  (Do you think his right hand is on his hip?  I’ll bet it is.)

IMG00638-20110903-2039

This unlikely duo was hanging out all alone on the top shelf of a bookcase.  They were probably discussing how they overcame their battles with alcohol.  I mean, Donna Martin almost didn’t graduate!

IMG00637-20110903-2035

Finally, I found these.  And for not being such a big reader, Sarah Palin has a lot of books written about her.  I know, I know she reads.  She just can’t remember the names of the papers she reads, or at least make one up on the fly.  My favorite is the one in the middle that calls her a “conservative superstar” because it makes me think of Mary Katherine Gallagher.

IMG00641-20110903-2047

So, in case you haven’t already, make your way down to your local Borders and buy some real live books before they become as obsolete as an 8 track.

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Leave a Reply

