Our Cabin

Between the memorial and the family reunion/BBQ which made sense because we were all in the same place at the same time (I told you we were crazy) we went up to the cabin to take some pictures and wander around.

Here’s the train my Gramps built so they didn’t have to lug all their groceries up the hill.  It’s a little run down.

IMG_2461

And here’s all the steps that lead up to the cabin.

IMG_2462

I missed a picture of the whole cabin from the outside (lame) but here is the front door with some pretty stained glass.

IMG_2504

And the inside, that has a few more items than it used to.  Why did this area seem so much bigger when I was younger?

IMG_2465

This is last family portrait that we took all together.  I’m thinking it was probably about 15 years ago.  I’m the skinny little thing (that probably thought she was fat) on the second step up, far left.

IMG_2468

In my Gramma’s bedroom she had a little sewing corner because she loved to sew.

IMG_2470

We even found a picture of Bridget in her rose costume that I told you about!  How cool is that?  Although I can see why she didn’t want to wear it to school.  How would she sit at her desk?

IMG_2479

Here is the view she had every morning when she woke up!  Beautiful!!!

IMG_2469

And in the other corner of the room she had a little dresser topped with pictures of her and my Gramps.  He was the love of her life!

IMG_2474

Look at how cute they were!

IMG_2473

And in case you don’t take my word for it, check out her sweatshirt!  Haha!

IMG_2502

Out in the back I made the boys pose for a picture on the deck.  I remember the deck being built and I remember Gramps trying to teach us how to shoot tin cans with a bb gun out there.  And I remember making homemade ice cream out there.

IMG_2477

Here’s a picture of my Gramma, my Gramps, and my sisters and I in almost the same spot as the deck was being built.

IMG_2672

Gramma’s other big love was gardening.  Here’s some pictures of her flowers.

IMG_2496

IMG_2501

IMG_2500

My favorite moment of our visit was the tree swing.  I remember when Gramps put it up and it felt like we were going so high.  And we really were!  The tree that it’s tied to is huge!  We would swing way out over all the steps.  It was exhilarating!  Here’s my boys going for a ride of their own.

IMG_2488

IMG_2482

And then Geric gave it a go.  He’s crazy.

IMG_2494

And then we drove back over the bridge to my Uncle’s house.

IMG_2506

More to come…

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

CheapOstay

3 responses

Leave a Reply

