Reasons to Stop Blogging… even though I never really will

Where in the world have I been?

It’s been way too long since a blog post, I realize.  And I was contemplating just giving it up altogether.

My reasons?

Well, for some reason, this blog puts pressure on me.  I can’t explain it.  But when I write something I’m putting myself “out there” and if no one comments, then I think I suck.  Or if it’s really good and I get a lot of comments, I feel like “how am I going to top that?”

And then there’s the whole idea of strangers reading my blog.  And honestly, complete strangers don’t bother me.  The mommies from other states or whatever.  That’s fine.  It’s the people who I kinda know that might find me through facebook or mutual friends and then they’re reading my blog and watching me live my life and not leaving comments, so I don’t really know they are there, but they are.  Like a stalker.  That I kinda know.  Okay I’m talking about ex-boyfriends.  It freaks me out that ex-boyfriends might be reading my blog!  We cut ties, people!  I don’t want contact.  Especially if they aren’t owning up to their stalking ways.  I don’t even know if they really are stalking me, but just the thought that they might be, freaks me out!  I mean, honestly, I’m totally stalkable material, right?  Right?

I sound crazy, right? But that’s not news.  Really.  Ya’ll knew I was crazy.

Then there’s the thought that strangers (not ex-boyfriends or mommies from other states, but weirdos) are really reading about my kids.  It’s just kinda weird.  And Oprah has gotten me all paranoid that there’s a child molester around every corner.  Which according to the Megan’s Law website, there kinda IS!  What if there’s someone reading my blog that IS a child molester and they’re printing out pictures of my kids like that one guy on Desperate Housewives who had that kid shrine in his basement.  *shiver me timbers*  Or the guy from Silence of the Lambs.  What if there’s a freak like the guy from Silence of the Lambs reading my blog?!?!  Then what?  Huh?  Then what?

I’m not the type of mommy blogger that is all discreet and only shows pictures of the back of my kids heads or makes up names for my kids like “Peter Pan” and “Simba,” because frankly there just aren’t enough cute male Disney characters, unless I start naming them after mice and ducks.  But if you sit and think about this stuff for too long, it’s just a wee bit freaky, right?

The world is a scary, scary place.

Alright, maybe not that scary, but still…

And finally, my kids are getting older.  I mean, my oldest is in kindergarten, but I have thought about how he’s going to feel one day if he reads my blog.  Is he going to be embarrassed about some of the stuff I’ve shared?  Or will he think it’s funny, as we all think it is, right?  Will he feel like we’re laughing with him, or at him?   It’s one thing to talk about my almost-5-year-old who still defiantly wets his pants on facebook to my 337 close and personal friends (haha) but putting it out in the blogosphere… kinda embarrassing… but maybe that’ll teach him to stop peeing in his pants, for heaven’s sake!

So, anywho, that’s what I’ve been thinking about and that’s why I’ve been gone for so long.

But it’s nice that some of you have facebooked me and said you’ve missed me, and the others that have “liked” that comment… that’s nice.  Those little blue “thumbs up” really make me feel special.

So, I’ll be back.  Me, Peter Pan, Simba, Nemo, and Sulley have a lot of updates to tell you all about.

I think I’ll adopt the name Mrs. Incredible for myself… for obvious reasons.

5 responses

    • Is this really Cinderella? If so, I’ve been wondering, how comfortable are those glass slippers? Seems to me like they’d be incredibly uncomfortable, and I wouldn’t be too quick to return them to my closet, ya know?

  1. Totally understandable!!! Back when I was blogging… and my kids were younger, I had a friend freak me out about the info I was putting out on the internet about my kids and even identity theft… SCARY stuff dude!!!! I understand!!!! I miss reading you 🙂 but I understand!

  2. You’ve summed up many of the concerns. There is such a duality – people you may be acquaintances with ordinarily now know way too much about you so when you bump into each other at an awkward social event, the awkwardness increases tenfold because they know what you really think . . . because the world does.

    I totally get your reasons but you are talented at it. Once you get past the little mental obstacles, I hope you do keep writing. If only to keep in good practice sharpening your skill.

  3. I stopped blogging when Aubrey started kinder. It did freak me out that a stranger could approach her at school and know enough details about our family that she might be convinced to go with them, especially since CO doesn’t have rules about how far sex offenders have to live from schools, and that their is a convicted rapist just a few streets from the school…. Oh and the guy on my street who was in jail when we moved in so he wasn’t on the registry, but is hack with his wife and I can see his house from mine. But not t worry, he only like HS girls, so mine are safe for a bit… You get the point! In other news, Aubrey is very aware of what I put on facebook and asks me NOT to put certain pics up. You see, I m friends with some of her friends moms so those pics can come back to haunt her in school. Also her teacher friended me last week and I haven’t responded. Do I want her teacher having access to everything I put on the Internet? I have a love/hate relationship with technology some times.

Leave a Reply

