Family Night: Feliz Cinco de Mayo!

Hola!  Me llamo Erin.  Tengo cuatro anos de espanol en la escuela y vivo in Honduras para tres meses.  Tambien, I was una maestra para muchos ninos que hablo mucho espanol, pero no hablo espanol muy bien.  No se como conjugate verbs correctly, especially in the past tense.  Que horror!  But I try.

I thought it would be awesome to have un noche de espanol during our Cinco de Mayo celebrations, but no one else in this house speaks as well as I do.  And that’s saying something, folks.  So I just threw in my favorite spanish phrases from time to time.  Senora Funk (mi maestra de espanol en la escuela secondaria) would be proud… and she would probably call Geric a tortuga, because he tends to do things at a slower pace than most.

We actually celebrated Cinco de Mayo on quatro de mayo.  The boys had a tickets to an Angels game on Cinco de Mayo so the celebrations had to take place a day early.

And I don’t know if you know the history of Cinco de Mayo and why it’s actually celebrated more in the United States than in Mexico, but I read up on it.  You should too.  Que interesante!

Jacob and I started the day off early while Elijah was napping and Caden was at school  We prepared our dessert… mexican brownies, that turned out asi, asi.  Not my favorite.  Even forgot to take a picture of the end product.

The boys worked together to make a pinata out of a paper bag,

IMG_4396

and Caden helped me make our first batch of homemade tortillas!  They were super easy to make, but if I do it again I think I’ll invest in a tortilla press, just for kicks.

IMG_4398

For dinner we ate Chipotle Bean Burritos.  Que delicioso!  We found a bunch of funny cheap dress up supplies at the party store (a sombrero, a flower for my hair, maracas, and a mustache) AND for our beverage… Margaritas!  I made them virgin margaritas, so the boys could have some too!

IMG_4408

IMG_4410

IMG_4412

The best part was Saturday morning when I asked Jacob what he wanted for breakfast and he said he wanted a margarita with his oatmeal.  Perhaps I should’ve changed the name… ay ay ay!

After dinner we went out back and hit the pinata.  (Just a side note: Elijah had a meltdown right before dinner, so he did not partake of family night.  Pobrecito.)  I didn’t want to fill it with candy, so I had let them each pick a toy from the toy section at the grocery store earlier that day.

IMG_4421

IMG_4423

After the pinata fun, we went inside for a mexican hat dance.  So fun!  And so funny!  It started out with just some normal bailando, pero…

IMG_4445

Jacob got tired…

IMG_4448

and Caden chaneled his inner Billy Elliot!

IMG_4449

IMG_4450

IMG_4451

IMG_4453

This one I’m saving for his senior yearbook!

IMG_4452

Oh, the hilarity!

Elijah woke up just in time to bust a move… although I think he thought the maracas were microphones.

IMG_4462

IMG_4467

All in all, another fun family night!  To see the rest of our family nights, click here.  Feel free to steal one, I promise you will have a good time.  Que bueno!  

Claro que si!  

Adios amigos!

Hasta la vista!

Okay, seriously, bye!

 

 

4 responses

  1. Erin, you are so funny! 🙂 Love the post and all the pics! 🙂 One of these days I need to start doing family nights!

    • Do it, Meg! I could think of so many funny girlie ones… or a hunting one for Kevin and Jameson! I did a camping one. That was easy. Do it!!! Your kids would LOVE it!

  2. Yay for Spanish and kiddies drinking virgin margaritas! It’s “cuatro” by the way, not quatro. 🙂 Also, loved the Sra. Funk reference. I think about her sometimes. I wonder if she’s on Facebook?

    • Ay caramba! How did I miss that one? 🙂 If you find Sra. Funk, let me know. I’ll friend her too. She was one of my faves.

Leave a Reply

